Hugo_Boss_m

Inconvenient past: crisis communication and World War II

A great number of brands and companies have become aware of the importance of their history, even of the necessity to restore it through a more or less convincing storytelling to their clients and widely to the general public. However, dark and not so dark sides are often overshadowed or minimized in the construction of a unifying and meaningful history of the brand. Indeed…

When examining historical stories or corporate Internet site chronologies, we can notice that the company’s activities during the dark years of World War II are rarely clearly expounded. Company founders actively involved in collaboration, their doubtful political acquaintances or simply their opportunism are often ignored. Most brands, it’s logical, prefer being associated with La Libération and its heroes: thus Louis XIII of Remy Martin evokes Churchill’s craze for the drink, without mentioning the cognac crates delivered in Lauriston street in 1943.

Others were penalized just after La Libération. Thus, Louis Renault charged with collaboration was sent to jail where he died a few months before his company went under public ownership due in particular to “prejudices… caused to the country”. Yet, there regularly arise “cases” that could incite brands to more transparency on the matter. Michel Bar-Zohar, a journalist, unveiled in his work in 1997, that Eugene Schueller – the founder of L’Oréal – had links with La Cagoule and then with Marcel Déat’s collaborationist party.

More recently, Hal Vaughan, an American journalist, asserts in “Sleeping with the enemy, Coco Chanel’s secret war” the famous fashion designer was doing services to Nazis. The Chanel group firmly denies the facts, though admitting “it was not the best period to live a love story with a German”. Besides, when the Galliano affair cropped up, a film showing Christian Dior’s niece praising the virtues of Nazism was dug up.

Reactions differ to these situations tarnishing the brand’s image and reputation. Most of the time, these historical elements and testimonies of an embarrassing past are dealt with from the angle of crisis communication and they are very rarely integrated as such into the corporate communication.

Hugo_Boss.jpg

Recently, the Hugo Boss Company had to face this dilemma. In 1997, a Washington Post article revealed its Nazi past: Hugo Ferdinand Boss’s opportunist merging of interests with the Third Reich regime – for which he was sentenced to a heavy fine and to the forfeiture of his civil rights – and his compelling forced labor to make Nazi uniforms. The group then decided to call on a historian, Elisabeth Timm, in charge of studying that past period. So there began a long process. The company resolved to contribute to a compensation fund for forced labor victims without being able for all that to make up their minds to publish the historical study… Hugo Boss broke off with the historian, so long as she expressed herself through the press. Eventually, the work by Roman Koester, a German historian, financed by the company was published in… 2011. A synthesis of this work is available online, whereas the brand clearly asserts its part played in forced labor use on its Internet site.

http://group.hugoboss.com/files/Study_on_the_Companys_History_Abridged_Verson_en_final.pdf http://group.hugoboss.com/en/history_study.html

In France, following the publication of elements revealing Edouard Leclerc’s role during World War II, Michel-Edouard Leclerc has decided to open the family’s and independent distributors group’s archives to a historian from La Sorbonne. The research conclusions will be presented on a collaborative Internet site, where Net surfers having documents related to the company’s history will be able to enrich the contents.

History does not only harm a brand, it can also strike a direct blow to its profits, as with the SNCF, which, because of their role in the Shoah, could see the American market close its doors in their face. Indeed the company admitted, as soon as 1995, its part in the deportation of thousands of Jews – referring to the President of the Republic’s speech during the Vel’d’Hiv’ commemorations: “As the arm of the French State, the SNCF company takes up these words and the sorrow they reflect of the victims, the survivors and their families who suffered because of our part during the war”. Indeed the SNCF opened its archives in 2000 and signed a partnership with the Shoah Memorial. Yet these gestures remain insufficient for American victims associations and some elected representatives. However, the SNCF spares no efforts and displays a real “historical” communication plan. In January 2011, Guillaume Pepy, its president, asserted that the SNCF was a “cog in the machine of the Nazi extermination” while underlying they had been requisitioned and compelled to do so by the occupying forces. The French company finances educational programs in California and Florida taking open responsibility for its part and claiming it is willing to improve public access to its archives. Its American Internet site devotes a large coverage to World War II and commits itself to an approach of openness.

sncf-EU.png

Considered opportunistic, this process hardly convinces Americans. In March 2011, members of Congress brought in a bill, which never passed, whose purpose was to start legal proceedings against the SNCF for its part during World War II. In May 2011, the governor of Maryland signed a law forcing railroad companies in the run for State contracts to reveal their contribution in the deportation of Jews.

Therefore, the present strategy of many brands and companies ignoring their history seems dangerous. The part played by many of them during World War II is regularly brought to light. If some feel compelled to assume their past, their reputation is never unharmed. And the confrontation with its history or its “public”, witnessing a flaw in the brand storytelling can be violent.

http://www.sncfhighspeedrail.com/heritage/myths-facts/
http://www.rue89.com/2011/10/04/deportation-la-sncf-a-lheure-du-grand-pardon-aux-etats-unis-224853

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hugo_Boss_m

Passé encombrant : communication de crise et Seconde Guerre mondiale

Un grand nombre de marques et d’entreprises ont pris conscience de l’importance de leur Histoire, voire même de la nécessité de sa restitution sous la forme d’un storytelling plus ou moins convaincant auprès de leurs clients et plus largement du grand public. Cependant, des pans plus ou moins sombres sont souvent occultés ou minimisés dans la construction d’une Histoire fédératrice et porteuse de sens de la marque. Et pour cause…

Lorsqu’on examine les récits historiques ou les chronologies des sites corporate, il est rare de voir clairement exposé les activités de l’entreprise durant les années sombres de la Seconde guerre mondiale. Les fondateurs d’entreprises activement impliqués dans la collaboration, les accointances politiques douteuses ou plus simplement l’opportunisme sont souvent passés sous silence. La plupart des marques préférant, tout logiquement, être associées à la Libération et à ses héros, ainsi Louis XIII de Rémy Martin rappelle l’engouement de Churchill pour son breuvage, sans s’appesantir sur les caisses de cognac livrées rue Lauriston en 1943.

D’autres furent sanctionnées dès la Libération, ainsi Louis Renault accusé de collaboration et emprisonné, décèdera en prison quelques mois avant que sa société ne soit nationalisée en raison, notamment « des préjudices causés au pays ». Pourtant surgissent régulièrement des « affaires » qui pourraient inciter les marques à plus de transparence sur ce sujet. Les liens d’Eugène Schueller, fondateur de l’Oréal, avec la Cagoule puis avec le parti collaborationniste de Marcel Déat sont largement dévoilés dans un ouvrage du journaliste Michel Bar-Zohar, en 1997.

Plus récemment, Hal Vaughan, journaliste américain affirme dans « Sleeping with the enemy, Coco Chanel’s secret war » (Au lit avec l’ennemi, la guerre secrète de Coco Chanel) que la célèbre couturière aurait été au service des Nazis. Ce que le groupe Chanel dément fermement, en admettant certes que « ce n’était pas la meilleure période pour vivre une histoire d’amour avec un Allemand ». A l’occasion de l’affaire Galliano, une vidéo de la nièce de Christian Dior vantant les mérites du nazisme est exhumée.

Face à ses affaires qui viennent ternir les images des marques et leur réputation, les réactions diffèrent. Bien souvent traités sous l’angle de la communication de crise, ces éléments historiques, témoins d’un passé gênant, sont très rarement intégrés en tant que tels à la communication corporate.

Hugo_Boss.jpg

L’entreprise Hugo Boss a été confrontée à ce dilemme. En 1997, un article du Washington Post révèle son passé nazi : les collusions opportunistes de Hugo Ferdinand Boss avec le régime du Troisième Reich, pour lesquelles il sera condamné à une lourde amende et à une privation de ses droits civiques, ainsi que la confection des uniformes nazis par des travailleurs forcés. Le groupe décide alors de recourir au service d’une historienne, Elisabeth Timm, chargée d’étudier ce passé. Commence alors un long processus, où la firme décide de participer au fond d’indemnisation des victimes du travail forcé sans pour autant se résoudre à publier l’étude historique…Hugo Boss rompt également tout contact avec son historienne, dès lors qu’elle s’exprime dans la presse. Finalement, l’ouvrage d’un historien allemand, Roman Koester, financé par l’entreprise sera publié en…2011. Une synthèse de ce travail est disponible en ligne, tandis que la marque affirme clairement sur son site Internet son rôle dans l’emploi de travailleurs forcés.

http://group.hugoboss.com/files/Study_on_the_Companys_History_Abridged_Verson_en_final.pdf http://group.hugoboss.com/en/history_study.html

En France, suite à la publication d’éléments révélant le rôle d’Edouard Leclerc lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Michel-Edouard Leclerc a décidé d’ouvrir les archives de la famille et du groupement des distributeurs indépendants à une historienne, rattachée à la Sorbonne. Le fruit de ce travail de recherches sera présenté sur un site Internet collaboratif où les Internautes disposant de documents relatifs à l’Histoire de l’entreprise, pourront enrichir son contenu.

L’histoire ne nuit pas qu’à l’image de marque, elle peut aussi directement porter atteinte à ses profits, comme c’est le cas de la SNCF, qui en raison de son rôle dans la Shoah risque de se voir fermer les portes du marché américain. Si, l’entreprise a reconnu dès 1995 son rôle dans la déportation de milliers de juifs, en faisant référence au discours du président de la République, lors des commémorations au Vel’d’Hiv’ « En tant que bras de l’Etat français, la SNCF reprend à son compte ces mots et la peine qu’ils reflètent pour les victimes, les survivants et leurs familles qui ont souffert à cause de notre rôle pendant la guerre », a ouvert ses archives en 2000 et a signé un partenariat avec le Mémorial de la Shoah, ces gestes restent insuffisants pour les associations américaines de victimes et certains élus. Cependant, la SNCF ne ménage pas ses efforts en déployant un véritable plan de communication « historique ». En janvier 2011, son président Guillaume Pepy affirme que la SNCF fut un « rouage de la machine nazie d’extermination » tout en soulignant la contrainte et la réquisition par l’occupant. En Californie et en Floride, la société finance des programmes éducatifs, assumant ouvertement son rôle et se dit prête à améliorer l’accès de ses archives au public. Son site américain consacre une large place à l’histoire de la Seconde guerre mondiale et s’engage dans une démarche de transparence.

sncf-EU.png

Qualifié d’opportunisme, ce processus peine à convaincre les américains. En mars 2011, des membres du Congrès déposent un projet de loi, qui ne verra pas le jour, visant à autoriser des poursuites contre la SNCF pour son rôle lors de la Seconde guerre mondiale. En mai 2011, le gouverneur du Maryland signe une loi obligeant les compagnies ferroviaires en lice pour des contrats avec cet Etat, à révéler leur rôle dans la déportation des Juifs.

Ainsi la stratégie actuelle de beaucoup de marques et entreprises ignorant leur histoire paraît périlleuse. Les activités des unes et des autres durant la Seconde guerre mondiale reviennent régulièrement sur le devant de la scène. Et si certaines se voient dans l’obligation d’assumer leur passé, cela n’est jamais sans dommage pour leur réputation et la confrontation tant avec son Histoire qu’avec son « public », témoin d’une faille dans les storytelling de marque, peut être violente.

http://www.sncfhighspeedrail.com/heritage/myths-facts/
http://www.rue89.com/2011/10/04/deportation-la-sncf-a-lheure-du-grand-pardon-aux-etats-unis-224853

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *