tailleur_Bar_PE1947_s

Eternellement Dior: a climax exhibition at Le Bon Marché

A funny coincidence… When parting from John Galliano, Dior House offers an exhibition devised as a creative and symbolic summary and puts into perspective its two creators, Christian Dior and John Galliano.

tailleur_Bar_PE1947.jpgtailleur_Diosera_PE1997.jpg

Tailleur Bar, Christian Dior, Spring-Summer 1947, on the left.

Tailleur Diosera, Christian Dior by John Galliano, Spring-Summer 1997 on the right.??

 

Photos ©Laziz Hamani

As Alice in Wonderland enter this little exhibition room, where the layout and a magnificent scenography will blur your spatial appreciation. Hushed atmosphere, where Dior Montaigne grey reigns. The scenography plays with you, brings you into a maze of displays and giant objects. Aren’t you a little lost? All the better!
Long glass-cases display a few dresses from the two eras, the two creators. Yet, the comparison remains barely noticeable. Between the dresses, (stand) the symbols of the House. Giant symbols, in front of which, impressed, we can try to feel the spirit of Dior. It begins with a J’adore Dior flask, at eye level, immediately referring to women’s generous curves. Farther on, canework is suggested inside of a giant powder compact whose mirror shows, the right way up, a video broadcast upside down in virtual eye shadows. A huge oval mirror (decorated with its Fontanges knot at the top) also broadcasts a video. On an enormous Medaillon chair there lies a Lady Dior bag, well-proportioned this time though made of porcelain and painted in gold. Two tall “Stockman” are also used as medium for image projection.
In the center, a pile of boxes for boots, shoes and hats. Some used as cases for more screens broadcasting advertisements, fashion shows or reports on the House know-how.
But the high point of the scenography is no doubt the gigantic virtual book recounting the history of the House, among photographs and quotes. And – what a technological miracle! – you will be able to turn the pages of the book yourself!
Finally, the two masters’ presence is evoked thanks to two big colorless paintings. Mr Christian Dior’s portrait is made of ashes on canvass. A nearly ghostly evocation of two creators of genius, of two bygone ages.
Until March the 26th, 2011 on the 2nd floor of le Bon Marché.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

tailleur_Bar_PE1947_s

Eternellement Dior : une exposition en point d’orgue au Bon Marché

Drôle de coïncidence… Au moment où elle se sépare de John Galliano, la Maison Dior se présente dans une exposition en forme de résumé symbolique et créatif et met en perspective les deux figures de sa Haute Couture : Christian Dior et John Galliano.

tailleur_Bar_PE1947.jpgtailleur_Diosera_PE1997.jpg

Tailleur Bar, Christian Dior, Printemps Eté 1947, à gauche.

Tailleur Diosera, Christian Dior par John Galliano, Printemps Eté 1997 à droite.

 

Photos ©Laziz Hamani

Entrez comme Alice au Pays des Merveilles dans ce petit salon d’exposition, où l’agencement et une scénographie magnifique viendront brouiller votre appréciation de l’espace. Ambiance feutrée, où flotte le gris Montaigne Dior. La scénographie s’amuse à vous emmener dans un dédale de vitrines et d’objets démesurés. Vous êtes un peu perdu ? Tant mieux !
De longues vitrines individuelles égrènent quelques robes des deux époques, des deux créateurs. La présentation comparée reste à peine perceptible cependant. Entre ces robes, les symboles de la maison. Des symboles géants, devant lesquels, impressionné, on peut tenter de ressentir l’esprit Dior. C’est d’abord un flacon J’adore Dior, à hauteur d’homme, qui renvoie immédiatement aux courbes généreuses de la femme. Plus loin, on évoque le cannage dans un énorme poudrier, dont le miroir permet de voir à l’endroit une vidéo diffusée à l’envers dans les « fards à paupières» virtuels. Un immense miroir ovale surmonté de son nœud Fontanges diffuse lui aussi une vidéo. Une chaise médaillon colossale présente un sac, bien proportionné cette fois, Lady Dior en or peint sur porcelaine. Deux très grands Stockman servent eux aussi de supports de projection d’images.
Au centre, un amas de boîtes à bottes, chaussures et chapeaux. Certaines servent d’écrin à de nouveaux écrans, qui diffusent publicités, défilés ou reportages sur le savoir-faire de la Maison.
Mais le clou de la scénographie est sans nul doute ce gigantesque livre virtuel retraçant l’histoire de la Maison, entre photographies et citations, dont vous pourrez vous-même, ô miracle technologique, tourner les pages.
Enfin, la présence des deux maîtres est évoquée par deux grands tableaux sans couleur. Le portrait de Monsieur Christian Dior est fait de cendres sur toile. Une évocation quasi fantomatique de deux génies créatifs, deux époques désormais révolues.
Jusqu’au 26 mars 2011 au 2e étage du Bon Marché.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *