Brochure_musee_Fragonard_m

Tested for you: Fragonard perfumery

In Grasse, economy and tourism are perfume-oriented. Ancient perfumeries like Molinard, Fragonard… have staked on visits and museums to survive. A review of Fragonard’s museum and factory tour.

Brochure_musee_Fragonard.jpg

Grasse is the worldwide capital of perfume, with about thirty factories, rather internationally oriented, and about twenty flower-growing farms, mainly focused on jasmine, rose and tuberose: the three perfume queens. It is a small town enjoying a microclimate, in the heart of a formerly disputed territory due to its geographical situation. A tiny fortified town, it turned to tanning as early as the XIIth century, thanks to the region’s abundance of pistacia and myrtle, a source of tannin. In the XVIth century, Catherine de Médicis brings in the French Court the Italian trend of gloves, perfumed to cover up the horrible smell of leather. And so perfumery was born from glove production. It took off in the XVIIth century. Grasse underwent major transformations due to the perfumeries within the town and the spreading of flower-growing farms in its vicinity.
Nowadays, the flowers are less visible. Billboards are flourishing to drag in tourists for them to visit the local perfumeries, the main ones being Molinard, Fragonard and Galimard.

Downtown, a prominent building catches your eye: it is Fragonard’s historical factory, since its beginning in 1926. It now shelters a small museum and what is left of the production unit can also be visited. The visit begins with the museum, all on one floor. The first part exhibits ancient flasks from the XVIIIth and XIXth centuries, toilet bags, business letters and passes from World War II.


Vitrine_musee.JPG

Then a new room focuses on the family’s history: a wall is dedicated to a great chronology with the main dates and black and white pictures, including portraits of the former and present directors. The next room proposes a journey through distant lands and times thanks to flasks and make-up tools from the Middle East, Egypt, Greece and Ancient Rome. The last part of the museum is the stairs – decorated with product labels -leading down to the factory visit.
The guided visits are made in groups, at regular intervals. They begin from the end, from the conditioning. Depending on the time and day, you could see busy workers there.

Conditionnement.JPG

Bouchons.JPG

Then the guide leads you to new rooms to discover the enfleurage fragrance extraction methods (flowers in fat) and the filters.

Armoire.JPG

Armoire.JPG

From this point, the rooms look more like an eco-museum than a factory: billboards, pictures and displays are here to complete your technical knowledge.

Ancienne_photo.JPG

Entonnoirs.JPG

Melange.JPG

And you are shown the soap production in its moulds. You learn that each factory has its own moulds. The downtown Grasse factory moulds egg-shaped soaps.

Savon.JPG

Oeuf.JPG

Then you discover the stills used to extract essential oils. At the end of the visit, you will stand in front of the laboratory, “where every single decision is made”. Bottles are graphically presented on each side. This modernity contrasts sharply with all that was previously seen. You will then be guided to the exit, or rather to the shop! Every perfumed product is exhibited there: soaps, eaux de toilette, shower gels, etc.
And the book “Fragonard, 80 years of passion”, published in 2006.

Livre_Fragonard.jpg

In a nice format, the cover of the book calls to mind the local and family history. Yet, it is rather a very little “home-made” encyclopedia on perfume. Though lavishly illustrated, the book deals mainly with general themes like: the history of perfume since Antiquity, raw materials, production techniques, perfume families, Grasse, noses… The themes are skimmed over and you do not learn much eventually. All the same, the author seizes the opportunity to restore some truths, as for the subsisting doubt about Catherine de Médicis coming to Grasse. And yet, this is not the greatest inaccuracy regarding the Grasse firms. Some internet sites (among which one developed by the Region) mention Galimard, gloves and perfume producer. According to these sites, this Grasse tanner would have been the first to devise the perfumed gloves. He would have given a pair to Catherine de Médicis, who, charmed, would have brought them in the Court. On its own website, Galimard only takes advantage of being the company founded in 1747 by Jean de Galimard, creator of the glove and perfume producers corporation. How could Catherine de Médicis (1519-1589) have met the above Jean de Galimard??? Of course, “Fragonard, 80 years of passion” does not mention this competitor, yet the book does not keep away from historical approximations and the dates about the gloves and perfume producers corporation are confusing.
Finally, the book only dedicates about twenty pages to the Fragonard Company. In the end, what do you know of the firm’s family culture? The founder simply took advantage of a business opportunity: tourism and flowers in Grasse, to sell perfumed products directly to tourists. Fragonard, the name given to the company, refers to Jean-Honoré Fragonard, a painter of the delicate XVIIIth century. And the company has remained a family business so far. The only major facts mentioned are Jean-François Costa’s collection of perfumery-linked objects – this collection gave birth to another Parisian museum and another book in 2008 – and the firm’s interest in La Provence traditions.
In conclusion, the book is faithful to the visit: global, lightweight and showing some good will but… where is the spirit of Fragonard to be found?

Not far away in the street, another Fragonard shop. This time it is Fragonard Home. The company has diversified into linen, boutis, glass-ware, basket-work and perfumed oils: all the fields of La Provence being exploited.

Fragonard_Maison.jpg

Photos: SB

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Brochure_musee_Fragonard_m

J’ai testé pour vous : la parfumerie Fragonard

A Grasse, l’économie et le tourisme sont axés sur le parfum. Les anciennes parfumeries ont misé sur les visites et les musées pour survivre. Molinard, Fragonard… Petit tour du musée et de l’usine de Fragonard.

Brochure_musee_Fragonard.jpg

Grasse est la capitale mondiale du parfum. La ville compte une trentaine d’usines à vocation plutôt internationale et une vingtaine d’exploitations cultivant les fleurs, essentiellement le jasmin, la rose et la tubéreuse, les trois reines de la parfumerie. Petite ville bénéficiant d’un microclimat, sa situation géographique l’a mise au cœur des conflits territoriaux. Minuscule ville fortifiée, elle s’est orientée vers la tannerie dès le XIIe siècle, grâce à l’abondance dans la région de lentisque et de myrte, utilisés comme tan. Au XVIe siècle, Catherine de Médicis importe à la cour française la mode italienne des gants parfumés, pour cacher l’abominable odeur des peaux. C’est ainsi que la parfumerie naît de la ganterie pour prendre son essor au XVIIe. Grasse connaîtra de grandes transformations dues à la parfumerie dans la ville et tout autour pour l’extension de la culture des fleurs.
Aujourd’hui, les fleurs sont moins visibles. Ce sont les panneaux publicitaires qui fleurissent pour attirer les touristes vers les visites d’usines de parfumerie locales. Molinard, Fragonard et Galimard en sont les principaux représentants.

En plein centre ville, une grande bâtisse interpelle : c’est l’usine historique de Fragonard, depuis ses débuts en 1926. Elle abrite un petit musée et on peut visiter également ce qui reste de la partie production. La visite commence par le musée, sur un étage. La première partie présente d’anciens flacons des XVIII et XIXe siècles, des nécessaires de voyage, des lettres commerciales et administratives, les laissez-passer de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale.

Vitrine_musee.JPG

Ensuite, une nouvelle salle se penche sur l’histoire de la famille : un mur est dédié à une grande chronologie avec les grandes dates et des images noir et blanc, dont des portraits des dirigeants anciens et actuels. La salle suivante propose un voyage vers des terres et des temps plus lointains grâce aux petits flacons et outils de maquillage de l’Orient, l’Égypte, la Grèce et la Rome antiques. Dernière partie du musée, l’escalier qui descend vers la visite de l’usine est ornée d’étiquettes.
Les visites sont organisées en groupe, par intervalles réguliers. Elles commencent à l’envers, par le conditionnement. Selon l’heure et le jour de la visite, vous pourrez voir les ouvrières à l’œuvre.

Conditionnement.JPG

Bouchons.JPG

La guide vous emmène ensuite vers de nouvelles salles pour découvrir les techniques d’enfleurage et les filtres.

Armoire.JPG

Armoire.JPG

Dès ce stade, les salles font davantage penser à un écomusée qu’une usine : panneaux, photos, vitrines viennent compléter vos connaissances techniques.

Ancienne_photo.JPG

Entonnoirs.JPG

Melange.JPG

Puis la fabrication de savon avec ses moules. Chaque usine dispose de ses propres moules, apprend-on. A Grasse centre, l’usine moule ses savons en formes d’œuf.

Savon.JPG

Oeuf.JPG

Ensuite, on découvre les alambics utilisés pour l’extraction des essences. Pour finir, petit tour devant le laboratoire « où tout se décide ». Les flacons y sont graphiquement disposés de chaque côté. La modernité tranche avec tout ce qui a été présenté précédemment. Et c’est sur cette dernière note qu’on nous conduit vers la sortie, ou plutôt la boutique. Tous les produits parfumés y sont présentés : savons, eaux de toilette, gels douche.
Et le livre « Fragonard 80 ans de passion » édité en 2006.

Livre_Fragonard.jpg

Joli format, le livre, dès la couverture, induit une histoire familiale et locale. Et pourtant, c’est plutôt une mini encyclopédie « maison » du parfum. Bien que richement illustré, le livre donne surtout dans les généralités : l’histoire du parfum depuis l’antiquité, les matières premières, les techniques de fabrication, les familles de parfum, Grasse, les nez… Sujets survolés, on n’y apprend finalement pas grand-chose. L’auteur en profite pour rétablir quelques vérités, comme le fort doute subsistant concernant la venue de Catherine de Médicis à Grasse. Là n’est point pourtant la plus grosse bévue circulant autour des maisons grassoises : nombre de sites (dont certains relevant de la région) font ainsi référence à Galimard, gantier parfumeur. D’après ces sites, ce tanneur de Grasse aurait eu l’idée des gants en cuir parfumé. Il aurait offert une paire à Catherine de Médicis, qui, séduite, l’aurait fait connaître à la cour. Sur son site, Galimard ne se prévaut pourtant que d’être l’entreprise créée par Jean de Galimard en 1747, fondateur de la corporation des gantiers parfumeurs. Catherine de Médicis (1519-1589) aurait en effet bien eu du mal à rencontrer ce gantier !!! Évidemment « Fragonard 80 ans de passion » ne mentionne pas cette entreprise concurrente. Mais le livre n’évite pas non plus les approximations historiques et on se perd un peu dans les dates se rapportant à la corporation des gantiers parfumeurs.
L’ouvrage ne laisse finalement qu’une vingtaine de pages à la Maison Fragonard. Que sait-on au final de la culture familiale maison ? Le fondateur a tout bonnement saisi une opportunité commerciale : le tourisme et les fleurs de Grasse, pour vendre des produits parfumés en direct aux touristes. Le nom de Fragonard est donné à l’entreprise en référence au peintre du XVIIIe Jean-Honoré Fragonard. Et l’entreprise est restée dans la famille jusqu’à ce jour. Seuls faits marquants rapportés : la collection d’objets liés à la parfumerie de Jean-François Costa, un des gérants de la lignée. Collection qui a donné naissance à un autre musée parisien et un autre livre en 2008. Et enfin l’attrait de la Maison pour les traditions provençales.
Somme toute, le livre est fidèle à la visite : généraliste et léger, de bonne volonté mais… où est donc l’âme de Fragonard ?

Pas très loin de là dans les rues, une autre boutique Fragonard… cette fois il s’agit de Fragonard Maison. L’entreprise s’est diversifiée dans la vente de linge de maison, boutis, verrerie et vannerie, huiles aromatiques : la Provence exploitée dans tous ses territoires.

Fragonard_Maison.jpg

Photos : SB

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *