Lutetia_Assouline_m

Flashback: Lutetia by Pierre Assouline. A company faced with war

With this highly documented novel, Pierre Assouline gives us a non-objective, though global and new point of view of a company’s life. Inside the hotel’s walls, a performance of the Parisian and international scene is being played with political, emotional and social stakes.

Lutetia_Assouline.jpg

As tackled in the previous post Inconvenient past: crisis communication and World War II, brands are often embarrassed about what is unclear in their history, mostly when it is linked to great History. World War II is in that way enough close to and far from us to offer edifying examples. Faced to this period, brands and their owners are often skeptical all the more so as information quickly falls into the public domain and rumors spread fast. Eventually, what is a company facing war like? Lutetia by Pierre Assouline gives us a complex and very human point of view of a crisis situation that we may judge too rapidly from today’s political “comfort” in a Manichean way. A flashback on this unique palace history and on this not so romantic novel.

The Lutetia hotel today is above all a Parisian palace. As many of its competitors, it is greatly committed to the artistic world. It has actually welcomed many famous guests, legitimating this positioning: Matisse, André Gide, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Picasso, Joséphine Baker. Nowadays works by artists like Arman or César decorate the hotel. Indeed its location is particular: it is the only palace on the Left Bank, in the Saint-Germain neighborhood.

Bar.png

The artistic heritage is therefore almost geographic. Built in 1910, it is also the first Art Déco hotel in Paris. But, after all, what is so absolutely extraordinary about it?
The hotel Internet site meets the standardized criteria of the Concorde Hôtels & Resorts Internet site, but in that frame with only a short page dedicated to its history, it is difficult to sense the spirit of the Lutetia.

Page_site.png

And yet, it would be a pity not to go beyond these superficial considerations, because its personality is full of treasures. As with all luxury brands, the Lutetia hotel often engenders reactions of covetousness, jealousy, speculation but also respect, responsibility, exemplarity. For this reason, it was involved in many storms. This is what the centenary celebrations, which began in December 2009, revealed.
At the start, they promised to be festive and light. As every outstanding luxury brand, the hotel had organized art-oriented events: parties and shows with jazzmen, photographers, writers and exhibitions (the Rotondes suites had just been refurbished and were up to welcoming known artists exhibitions.
A special offer for the residing guests was launched, including the “Lutetia Secrets”: an unusual visit of the confidential places of the palace. The bar was offering a « 1910-Lutetia-2010 » champagne by Taittinger. This 100th anniversary was also celebrated through the book « Hôtel Lutetia Paris – L’esprit de la Rive Gauche » published in 2009.

Livre_Lutetia_100_ans.png

Marketing had been developed up to its extreme lightness with the launch of the hotel’s own olfactory atmosphere from a candle and a mist so as to complete the “take away” signature of the palace.
The celebrations ended on December 21st, 2010 with a great dinner for the benefit of Care France Association, joined by famous guests. To a certain extent, France 2 Television report of the celebration sharply pointed out the lavish splendor of it just after having announced the opening of Les Restos du Coeur.

Besides, the Lutetia’s anniversary did not go unnoticed owing to the fuss made about the hotel. In 2010, rumors, speculations and negotiations concerning the palace sale were going around. Finally, the selling of the Lutetia to Alrov, an Israeli group, magnified the rumors. Medias strongly focused on the symbol: this great palace that had “welcomed” Germans during the war, was now seen as being in Israel’s hands. They had come full circle. But they barely mentioned that the Lutetia was far from being the only hotel that the Germans had used as residence or headquarters and that the palace had welcomed the returning deportees at La Libération.

Hesitating between all the great Parisian palaces, Pierre Assouline did not go wrong when he finally picked his novel’s place: it was to be “Lutetia”, published by Gallimard in 2005. Assouline had been charmed by its strong French connotation (it is the only Parisian palace where so many French guests stay, which is unique in Paris) and by its particular location. And mostly, among all the hotels requisitioned by the Germans,” it is the only one to have been redeemed at La Libération, when becoming a reception and accommodation center for deportees”, he said in an interview for his publisher. This atonement is not a mere way of embellishing far too difficult a reality to assume. It has truly contributed to the construction of the hotel current personality. On this matter, Assouline evokes a revealing (though unknown) tradition innovated by the palace: each first Thursday of the month, the Lutetia hotel offers dinner to an association of former deportees ; with entirely different religious, political, social views and practices, they hold in common having been deportees and having been sheltered by the Lutetia once back in Paris.

Accueil_deportes.png
Deportees at the Hôtel Lutetia. 1945. Source: FNDIRP.

After in-depth research in the hotel’s archives, Pierre Assouline has then written a fascinating book part novel and history book. The welcoming deportees episode marks the climax of the palace saga covering the interwar period to La Libération. The other dramatic culmination is of course, for parallel reasons and echo, the hotel being requisitioned by the Abwehr during l’Occupation. The interwar happy days description, suffused with expansion, splendor and unconsciousness, allows such a radical and abyssal putting into perspective of the palace situation. During L’Occupation, Paris is defeated, humiliated and frightened. Assouline shows us very cleverly that between resistance and collaboration, the day-to-day mere survival question of an under siege city was also legitimate. And all the questionings, choices, dilemmas, bravery and cowardice engendered by the situation are transposed in this miniature society that is a company.

The author’s stroke of genius? To have chosen considering the hotel from a unique point of view. While three quarters of the historical facts and characters are authentic, Assouline’s story is seen through the eyes a fictitious character. The hero’s construction is perfect: a former wounded soldier of World War I, a former cop, Alsatian, bilingual in French and German and protestant, Edouard Kiefer is the Lutetia’s detective. Ambiguous, he is, as the hotel, tossed about between his clients’ and colleagues’ stories and History. As a detective, he sees everything, knows everything, takes down everything but he has to stay invisible. Edouard Kiefer is then the privileged and perfect witness of a company reflecting its era. He and the hotel walls witness the bustling of History and of everyone’s difficulties, emotions and stories and suffer from them. Clients, employees, soldiers, black marketers, then deportees and families sick with the hope of a hypothetical return: each person, each emotion, each decision leave their imprint on the hotel walls. Each character’s complexity suddenly leads History back to one’s life scale. The disillusion of this little boy who had grown up carefree and who finds himself back wandering in the hotel like a ghost; the grip of alcohol on the clients’ sparring turning to politics in the restaurant, the employees’ concern about the future, their speculations as to hiding some bottles in the hotel cellar, are as many testimonies. In this way, Pierre Assouline sheds a new light on the true nature of a company: beyond management policy, economic, political or social contexts, men are the stuff a company’s history, wealth and value.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Lutetia_Assouline_m

Flashback : Lutetia par Pierre Assouline – une entreprise face à la guerre

Avec ce roman largement documenté, Pierre Assouline nous a livré un point de vue non objectif et pourtant très global et nouveau de la vie d’une entreprise. A l’intérieur des murs de l’hôtel, c’est finalement une représentation de la scène parisienne et internationale qui se joue, politiquement, émotionnellement et socialement.

Lutetia_Assouline.jpg

Comme abordé dans le précédent post Passé encombrant : communication de crise et Seconde Guerre mondiale, les marques sont souvent mal à l’aise avec les zones d’ombre de leur histoire, surtout quand celles-ci sont liées à la grande Histoire. A ce titre, l’épisode de la Seconde Guerre mondiale est suffisamment proche et lointain pour nous offrir des exemples édifiants. Face à cette période, les marques et leurs possesseurs sont souvent sceptiques. D’autant que les informations tombent vite dans le domaine public et les rumeurs vont bon train. Mais finalement, qu’est-ce qu’une entreprise face à la guerre ? « Lutetia » de Pierre Assouline nous donne un point de vue complexe et très humain d’une situation de crise qu’on a trop vite fait de juger de façon manichéenne dans notre « confort » politique d’aujourd’hui. Retour sur l’histoire de ce palace unique en son genre et sur ce roman pas si romanesque que ça.

L’hôtel Lutetia aujourd’hui, c’est avant tout un palace parisien. Comme bon nombre de ses concurrents, il présente une forte implication dans le monde artistique. Il a d’ailleurs reçu de nombreux visiteurs célèbres, qui viennent légitimer ce positionnement : Matisse, André Gide, Antoine de Saint Exupéry, Picasso, Joséphine Baker. Aujourd’hui, l’hôtel est décoré d’œuvres d’artistes comme Arman ou César. Il est vrai que sa localisation est particulière : c’est le seul palace de la rive gauche, à Saint Germain.

Bar.png

L’héritage artistique est presque géographique. Construit en 1910, il est aussi le 1er hôtel Art Déco de Paris. Mais finalement, quoi d’absolument extraordinaire dans tout cela ?
Avec une toute petite page sur l’histoire de l’établissement, le site Internet de l’hôtel Lutetia répond aux critères standardisés du site Concorde Hôtels & Resorts, mais dans ce cadre, il est difficile d’y déceler une « âme ».

Page_site.png

Et pourtant, il serait dommage de s’arrêter à ces considérations bien superficielles. Car sa personnalité est d’une richesse infinie. Comme pour toutes les marques de luxe, il induit souvent dans les réactions convoitise, jalousie et spéculation, mais aussi respect, responsabilité, exemplarité. Et de ce fait, il fut souvent au cœur de bien des tourmentes. C’est ce qu’ont révélé les célébrations de son centenaire dès décembre 2009.
Celles-ci s’annonçaient légères. En bonne marque de luxe, l’établissement avait organisé des événements teintés d’art : soirées avec artistes de jazz, photographes, écrivains et expositions (les suites Rotondes étant rénovées et pouvant donc nouvellement accueillir les expositions d’artistes de renom).
Une offre spéciale pour les résidents fut lancée, comprenant le Lutetia Secrets : une visite inédite des lieux confidentiels du palace. Le bar proposait une cuvée « 1910-Lutetia-2010 » élaborée avec Taittinger. L’anniversaire était également célébré grâce au livre « Hôtel Lutetia Paris – L’esprit de la Rive Gauche » aux éditions de Lattes, paru en 2009.

Livre_Lutetia_100_ans.png

Le marketing fut poussé à son extrême légèreté avec le lancement de sa propre atmosphère olfactive : une bougie et une brume pour compléter la signature « à emporter » du palace.
Les célébrations furent clôturées le 21 décembre 2010 par un grand dîner au profit de Care France. Ce grand dîner regroupait des invités de renom. L’information fut d’ailleurs quelque peu épinglée puisque le journal de France 2 étala le faste de cette soirée juste après l’annonce de l’ouverture des Restos du Cœur.

Ce centenaire n’est pas non plus passé inaperçu du fait de l’actualité de l’hôtel. En 2010, les rumeurs, hypothèses et tractations concernant la vente du palace se sont emballées. Finalement, la vente de Lutetia à un groupe israélien, Alrov, a porté tout ce bruit à son apogée. Les médias ont fortement appuyé le symbole qu’ils y voyaient : ce grand palace ayant pendant la guerre « accueilli » les allemands, aujourd’hui entre les mains d’Israël. La boucle était bouclée. Mais ils ne mentionnaient que rarement que Lutetia était loin d’être le seul hôtel à avoir servi de résidence et de QG aux allemands, oubliant également l’accueil réservé par le palace aux déportés à la Libération.

Hésitant entre tous les palaces parisiens, Pierre Assouline ne s’y est pas trompé lorsqu’il a finalement choisi le lieu de son roman : ce fut « Lutetia », publié chez Gallimard en 2005. Assouline avait été séduit par sa connotation française forte (c’est le seul palace parisien à être fortement fréquenté par des français, ce qui est unique à Paris) et sa localisation particulière. Et surtout, de tous les hôtels ayant été réquisitionnés par les allemands, c’était le seul « à avoir trouvé une rédemption à la Libération, en devenant un centre d’accueil et d’hébergement pour les déportés », dit-il lors d’un entretien pour l’éditeur. Cette rédemption n’est d’ailleurs pas un simple enrobage d’une réalité un peu trop difficile à assumer. Elle a réellement contribué à la construction de la personnalité actuelle de l’hôtel. Assouline évoque à ce propos une tradition révélatrice (et pourtant méconnue) créée par le palace : chaque premier jeudi du mois, la direction de Lutetia offre un dîner à une association d’anciens déportés. De religion, d’orientation politique et de statut social différents, ils affichent tous pour point commun d’avoir été déportés et d’être rentrés par le Lutetia.

Accueil_deportes.png
Accueil des déportés à l’hôtel Lutetia. 1945. Source FNDIRP.

Après des recherches très approfondies dans les archives de l’hôtel, Pierre Assouline a donc écrit un livre fascinant entre roman et livre d’histoire. L’épisode de l’accueil des déportés arrive en point d’orgue dans cette saga du palace, saga qui va de l’entre-deux guerres jusqu’à la Libération. L’autre grand pic dramatique étant, résonnance et parallélisme oblige, la réquisition de l’établissement par l’Abwehr pendant l’Occupation. Et c’est la description des jours heureux, dans l’expansion, le faste et l’inconscience de l’entre-deux guerre, qui permet une mise en abîme aussi radicale de la question de la survie du palace. Pendant l’Occupation, Paris est vaincu, humilié, apeuré. Assouline nous montre bien habilement qu’entre résistance et collaboration, il y a aussi la question de la simple survie quotidienne d’une ville en état de siège. Et tous les questionnements, les choix, les dilemmes, les bravoures et les lâchetés que la situation entraînait sont transposés dans cette microsociété qu’est une entreprise.

Le coup de génie de l’auteur ? D’avoir fait le choix d’un unique point de vue sur l’hôtel. Alors que les trois quarts des faits et personnages de l’histoire sont authentiques, Assouline nous livre son récit à travers le regard d’un personnage fictif, qui signe la trame romanesque. La construction de ce héros est parfaite : ancien poilu blessé de guerre, ancien flic, alsacien, bilingue français – allemand et protestant, Edouard Kiefer est le détective de Lutetia. Ambigu, il est balloté, comme l’hôtel, entre les petites histoires de ses clients ou collègues et la grande histoire. Détective, il voit tout, sait tout, note tout, mais doit rester invisible. Edouard Kiefer est ainsi le témoin privilégié et idéal d’une entreprise qui reflète son temps. Et comme lui, les murs de l’hôtel assistent et subissent les remous de l’Histoire et les difficultés, les émotions, les histoires de chacun. Clients, employés, soldats, trafiquants du marché noir, puis déportés et familles malades d’espoir d’un hypothétique retour : chaque personne, chaque émotion, chaque décision imprime sa trace dans les murs de l’hôtel. La complexité de chaque personnage ramène soudain la grande Histoire à l’échelle d’une vie, d’une personnalité. La désillusion de ce petit garçon qui avait grandi dans l’insouciance et se retrouve à errer dans l’hôtel tel un fantôme, les joutes verbales devenues politiques des clients alcoolisés au restaurant, les interrogations des employés quant à leur avenir, leurs spéculations pour cacher certaines bouteilles dans la cave de l’hôtel en sont autant de témoignage. Pierre Assouline amène ainsi un nouvel éclairage : au-delà des politiques managériales, du contexte économique, politique ou social d’une entreprise, ce qui fait l’histoire, la richesse et la valeur d’une entreprise, ce sont les hommes.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *