HautBrionFac-CHB2007-300_m

Château Haut-Brion: 75 years of family traditions and centuries of legacy celebrated with elegance

The legacy of some brands is sometimes simply dazzling. Among them, wines and spirits are often to be found in a prominent position. But few estates can boast of such a great connection between tradition, innovation, national and international history as Château Haut-Brion. To celebrate the 75th anniversary of his family’s acquiring Château Haut-Brion, Prince Robert de Luxembourg has harmonized all the prestige and refinement details.

HautBrionFac-CHB2007-300.jpg

In 1935, Clarence Dillon buys Château Haut-Brion.

Clarence_DillonBD.jpg

This is how an American family became the owner of a tradition and of a French wine production Mecca. It has since cultivated and enriched all its noble distinctive features.
Château Haut-Brion’s story and evolution are linked with nobility, great families’ legacy hazards, techniques development, international trade first steps, diplomacy, gastronomy and highly prestigious figures. It is rich, dense and complex. Appreciating it demands time. It is to be discovered progressively, with delight, as for the tasting of a glass of these exceptional laying down wines.

Besides respect for the soil, the processes, time and materials – which are particular to such wines production – two great traditions stand out in Château Haut-Brion’s history:

  • Innovation

Every ancient company boasts about its culture and innovation. How could they last and grow without it anyway? This estate’s innovations have however marked turning points in wine and brands history and deserve our attention.
Let’s have a look at the brand side for a start. Château Haut-Brion could probably be the first luxury brand ever! It is indeed the first cru of Bordeaux named after its soil, not after the owner’s or parish name, in the middle of the 17th century.
In the same spirit, an innovation concerning the naming is to be noticed. At the beginning of the 18th century, due to legacies Château Haut-Brion is made to share Château Margaux’s destiny through their common manager. In 1740, the word Château is attached to Haut-Brion and Margaux brands in the trade registers. This marks the first appearance of the word “Château” in Bordeaux.
Great wines also know a decisive turning point through Château Haut-Brion. In 1663, the Château creates a new wine type: the “New French Claret”, which introduces time concerns in its production. Henceforward, wine can improve while ageing.

  • Diplomacy, or Château Haut-Brion’s passionate ambassadors

Numerous figures introduced these wines through their activities or travels, in France and abroad as well. Some examples:
In 1666, the Pontac family, the estate owner at the time, presents Château Haut-Brion’s wine in England: the family acquires a tavern in London, Pontak’s head. It quickly becomes a very trendy place. And, of course, wines of the estate are being served.
Prince de Talleyrand, who was once linked with the estate, was a diplomat. He was a wines and gastronomy fanatic. And his diplomacy went through wine.
In 1787, Thomas Jefferson visits Château Haut-Brion and falls in love with it. At that time, he is the United States ambassador in France. Once President of the United States, he remains faithful to his favorite wine, beyond borders and oceans.
In 1801, Talleyrand, Prince of Bénévent, buys Château Haut-Brion (only for a few years). A diplomat still.
It is funny to notice that the present owner family themselves maintain this tradition! Indeed, Douglas Dillon was the United States ambassador in France from 1953 to 1957.

Today, Domaine Clarence Dillon, managed by Prince Robert de Luxembourg, Clarence Dillon’s great-grandson, includes wines of Château Haut-Brion, Château La Mission Haut-Brion and Clarendelle.

HautBrionimg_Prince_RobertBD.jpg

Clarendelle also shares in the Haut-Brion innovation tradition since the brand has been recently launched to enlarge the offer. The label is of course a tribute to Clarence Dillon.
And Mission Haut-Brion is a wonderful “complement” to Château Haut-Brion.

HautBrionMHB_ING_0920.jpg

The “Mission” label comes from the Lazarist priests who lived there and gave the property its particular soul. At Mission Haut-Brion, the link to America can also be found out, since Célestin Chiapella, who was born in New Orleans, buys the castle in 1821. He introduces his wines to the United States. The Dillon family acquires the property in 1983. This acquisition is actually a perfect parallel to the property story, as Jean de Pontac’s brother in law, owner of Château Haut-Brion, had bought the original plot from Château la Mission Haut-Brion, we come full circle.

But let’s go back to Château Haut-Brion. In 2010, Prince Robert de Luxembourg expressed the wish to fittingly celebrate the anniversary of these lands of Bordeaux acquisition. This gave rise to 8 prestigious dinners organized through the world, in great capital cities.
These incredible events were aimed at presenting a few wines selected by the property to fortunate guests during dinners prepared by the greatest world Chefs, in magnificent and often meaningful places, linked in a way with the family or Château Haut-Brion history.
Invariably, large tables are laid. Plates are arranged according to haute gastronomy rules, in an inch-perfect accuracy. Flowers and glasses for tasting complete the tables. Waiters in white gloves discreetly fuss over the guests.

table_et_fleurs.jpg
Carafes.jpg
On Internet, you can see all these dinners, filmed and cut in the same way: an introduction by Prince de Luxembourg, the location presentation, and then the sommelier meeting the Chef. The selected wines are presented to the Chef, who evokes the harmonies the wines suggest and lets the menu come to mind. Then, the viewer discovers the dinner with the guests, the ballet of the dishes being laid on the tables, then uncovered, the wines being served.
The first dinner was held in Paris on May 27th, 2010, at the Académie Diplomatique Internationale (International Diplomacy Academy). Yannick Alleno, Chef of the Meurice, offered a lobster with Noirmoutier potatoes.

Table_paris.jpg

The second dinner followed the property history logic with London, on June 10th, 2010. It took place in Lancaster House, which welcomed several G7 summits – another reference to the diplomatic past of Château Haut-Brion. The Chef Philip Howard concocted a lamb saddle, shallots, and pink garlic.

Londres.jpg

To respect the American tradition of the property, the third dinner was held in New York, on July 12th, 2010, at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Douglas Dillon, /grand ? / great grand ? /-father of Prince de Luxembourg, had precisely been President of the Museum. During the dinner, they served a Château Haut-Brion 1935, the family’s first vintage. The Chef, Daniel Boulud, had chosen quails stuffed with figs.

New_York.jpg

The 4th dinner took place in Shangaï, on October 18th, 2010, that is to say during the World Fair. Fine coincidence. Paul Poiret’s menu included a prime cut of beef sweet and cacao flavored.
The 5th celebration was held in Hong Kong, on October 21st, 2010. Chan Yan Tak, the only Chinese Chef to have received the three stars from the Michelin Guide, served a Pekin pork.
Tokyo welcomed the 6th dinner on October 27th, 2010. The Chef, Hideki Ishikawa, composed a land & sea harmony of 5 flavors.
In Los Angeles, on December 8th, 2010, the 7th dinner took place in Saint Vibiana, the first ever cathedral of the town. The Chef, Thomas Keller, had chosen lamb and truffle to accompany Château Haut-Brion.
The last dinner was served in Moscow, on April 14th, 2011. Anne-Sophie Pic was the Chef for this final celebration. She offered a sea bass to the guests.

In order to leave a more lasting trace than a dinner, Clarence Dillon estate also organized auction sales of commemorative caskets for the benefit of associations located in the 8 towns visited by the dinners. The caskets were made by a cabinetmaker: Viscount Linlay. They are made of a subtle marquetry and silver objects by the Italian jeweler Buccellati, were hidden in the caskets secret drawers.

To sum up, this anniversary was celebrated with elegance, various marketing tools exploring the numerous brand territories. Clarence Dillon’s initiatives, Internet sites and brochures, do not lack innovation or prestige and are quite up-to-date though very classical. Indeed, the whole communication draws its inspiration from the solid bases of prestigious wines and French refinement tradition. But it does not rest on its laurels because, in a word, one need not be modern to innovate. Knowing one’s story, respecting it, developing one’s values at present… this is how one remains the master of one’s era.

Internet Sites:
http://www.domaineclarencedillon.com
http://www.mission-haut-brion.com
http://www.clarendelle.com
And to discover the videos of the dinners:
http://www.haut-brion.com

Photos: Domaine Clarence Dillon

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HautBrionFac-CHB2007-300_m

Château Haut-Brion : 75 ans de tradition familiale et des siècles d’héritage fêtés dans l’élégance

Il est des marques dont le patrimoine est tout simplement éblouissant. Parmi celles-ci, les vins et spiritueux ont souvent une belle place. Mais peu de domaines peuvent se vanter d’une aussi belle connexion entre tradition, innovation, histoire nationale et internationale comme Château Haut-Brion. Pour fêter les 75 ans de l’acquisition de Château Haut-Brion par sa famille, Prince Robert de Luxembourg a fait rimer tous les accents du prestige et du raffinement.

HautBrionFac-CHB2007-300.jpg

En 1935, Clarence Dillon achète Château Haut-Brion.

Clarence_DillonBD.jpg

C’est ainsi qu’une famille américaine devient propriétaire d’un haut lieu de tradition et de production de grands vins français. Elle a depuis cultivé et enrichi toutes ses nobles particularités.
L’histoire et l’évolution de Château Haut-Brion sont liées à la noblesse, aux aléas des héritages des grandes familles, à l’évolution des techniques, aux balbutiements du commerce international, à la diplomatie, à la gastronomie et à de très prestigieuses personnalités. C’est riche, c’est dense, c’est complexe. Apprécier l’ensemble demande du temps. Cela se découvre progressivement, avec délectation, tout comme la dégustation d’un verre de ces vins de garde exceptionnels.

Outre les qualités de respect de la terre, des procédés, du temps, des matériaux, propres à la production de tels vins, deux grandes traditions se détachent dans l’histoire de Château Haut-Brion :

  • L’innovation

Toutes les maisons anciennes se targuent de leur culture de l’innovation. Comment durer et évoluer sans cela de toute façon ? Les innovations de ce Château ont cependant marqué des tournants dans l’histoire du vin et des marques et méritent qu’on s’y attarde.
Du côté des marques pour commencer : Château Haut-Brion pourrait bien être la 1e marque de luxe au monde ! C’est en effet, le 1er cru de Bordeaux désigné par son lieu d’origine et non par le nom du propriétaire ou de la paroisse, au milieu du XVIIe siècle.
Dans le même esprit, on note une innovation au niveau de l’appellation. Au début du XVIIIe, les héritages font que Château Haut-Brion partage la destinée de Château Margaux, à travers leur gérant commun. En 1740, le terme Château est accolé aux marques Haut-Brion et Margaux dans les registres commerciaux. C’est la première apparition du mot « Château » à Bordeaux.
C’est également à travers Château Haut-Brion que les grands vins en général ont connu un tournant décisif. En 1663, le Château crée un nouveau style de vin : le « New French Claret », qui introduit la notion de temps dans son élevage. Désormais, le vin pourra se bonifier en vieillissant.

  • La diplomatie, ou les « ambassadeurs » passionnés de Château Haut-Brion

De nombreuses personnalités ont fait découvrir ces vins à travers leurs activités ou voyages, en France mais aussi à l’étranger. Quelques exemples : En 1666, la famille Pontac, alors propriétaire des lieux, fait connaître le vin de Château Haut-Brion en Angleterre : elle acquiert une taverne à Londres, Pontack’s Head. Celle-ci devient rapidement un haut lieu à la mode. Et on y sert bien sûr, des vins du domaine.
Le Prince de Talleyrand, qui fut un temps lié au domaine, était diplomate. Il était passionné de vins et de gastronomie. Et sa diplomatie passait à travers le vin.
En 1787, Thomas Jefferson visite Château Haut-Brion et en tombe amoureux. Il est alors ambassadeur des Etats-Unis en France. Devenu Président des Etats-Unis, il reste fidèle à son vin préféré, par-delà les frontières et les océans.
En 1801 Talleyrand, Prince de Bénévent, achète Château Haut-Brion (pour quelques années seulement). Encore un diplomate.
Il est amusant de constater que la famille propriétaire actuelle prolonge elle aussi cette tradition ! En effet, Douglas Dillon était ambassadeur des Etats-Unis en France de 1953 à 1957.

Aujourd’hui, le Domaine Clarence Dillon est dirigé par le Prince Robert de Luxembourg, arrière-petit-fils de Clarence Dillon, et compte dans ses rangs les vins de Château Haut-Brion, de Château La Mission Haut-Brion et de Clarendelle.

HautBrionimg_Prince_RobertBD.jpg

Clarendelle entre dans la tradition d’innovation Haut-Brion, puisque la marque a été récemment lancée pour élargir l’offre. Le nom est bien sûr un hommage à Clarence Dillon.
Quant à la Mission Haut-Brion, elle est un magnifique « complément » à Château Haut-Brion.

HautBrionMHB_ING_0920.jpg

Le nom de « Mission » provient des prêtres lazaristes qui occupaient les lieux et ont donné cette âme particulière au domaine. On retrouve à la Mission Haut-Brion le lien américain, puisqu’en 1821, le château est acheté par Célestin Chiapella. Ce dernier est né à la Nouvelle Orléans. Il fera découvrir ses vins aux Etats-Unis. L’acquisition du domaine par la famille Dillon date de 1983. Cette acquisition est d’ailleurs le parfait parallèle de l’histoire puisqu’en 1540, le beau-frère de Jean de Pontac, propriétaire de Château Haut-Brion, avait acquis la parcelle originelle de Château la Mission Haut-Brion. La boucle est ainsi bouclée.

Mais revenons-en à Château Haut-Brion. En 2010, Prince Robert de Luxembourg a souhaité fêter dignement l’anniversaire de l’acquisition de ces terres dans le bordelais. L’occasion a donné lieu à 8 prestigieux dîners organisés à travers le monde, dans de grandes capitales.
Ces événements incroyables, avaient pour principe de faire (re)découvrir quelques vins sélectionnés par la Maison à d’heureux invités, lors de dîners préparés par les plus grands Chefs mondiaux, dans de magnifiques endroits souvent chargés de sens, en rapport avec l’histoire de la famille ou de Château Haut-Brion.
Invariablement, de grandes tables sont dressées. La vaisselle y est déposée dans le respect de la haute gastronomie, au millimètre. Des fleurs et des verres pour les différentes dégustations complètent la présentation. Les serveurs aux gants blancs s’affairent discrètement autour des convives.

table_et_fleurs.jpg
Carafes.jpg
On peut voir sur Internet tous ces dîners filmés et montés selon le même modèle : une introduction par le Prince de Luxembourg, la présentation du lieu. Puis, la rencontre du sommelier avec le Chef. Les vins sélectionnés sont présentés au Chef qui suggère ses accords et laisse les mets venir à son imagination. Ensuite, le spectateur découvre le repas au milieu des convives, la danse des plats, des cloches qu’on soulève révélant les mets, les vins versés.
Le 1er dîner eut lieu à Paris, le 27 mai 2010, à l’Académie Diplomatique Internationale. Yannick Alleno, Chef officiant au Meurice, proposait un homard aux pommes de terre de Noirmoutier.

Table_paris.jpg

Le 2e dîner suivait la logique de l’histoire de la Maison avec Londres, le10 juin 2010. Il se déroulait à Lancaster House, qui fut le lieu de plusieurs sommets du G7 – encore une référence au passé diplomatique de Château Haut-Brion. Le Chef Philip Howard y a concocté une selle d’agneau, échalotes, ail rose nouveau.

Londres.jpg

Tradition américaine oblige, le 3e dîner se tint à New York, le 12 juillet 2010, au Metropolitan Museum of Art. Douglas Dillon, le grand-père du Prince de Luxembourg en fut justement Président. Pendant le dîner, fut servi un Château Haut-Brion 1935, 1er millésime de la famille. Le Chef, Daniel Boulud, avait choisi des cailles farcies de figues.

New_York.jpg

Le 4e dîner se déroula à Shanghaï, le 18 octobre 2010, soit pendant l’exposition universelle. Belle coïncidence. Le repas de Paul Poiret incluait une pièce de bœuf aux accents sucrés, cacaotés.
La 5e célébration eut lieu à Hong Kong, le 21 octobre 2010. L’unique Chef chinois à avoir reçu 3 étoiles du Guide Michelin, Chan Yan Tak, était aux commandes et a servi un porc laqué.
Tokyo accueillit le 6e dîner le 27 octobre 2010. Le Chef, Hideki Ishikawa, composa un mariage terre – mer de 5 saveurs.
A Los Angeles, le 8 décembre 2010, le 7e dîner prit place à Sainte Vibiana, qui fut la toute première cathédrale de la ville. Le Chef, Thomas Keller, avait choisi l’agneau et la truffe pour accompagner Château Haut-Brion.
Le dernier dîner a eu lieu à Moscou, le 14 avril 2011. Anne-Sophie Pic était le Chef invité pour cette ultime célébration. Elle avait notamment préparé un bar de ligne.

Afin de laisser une trace plus durable qu’un dîner, le Domaine Clarence Dillon a également organisé la vente aux enchères de coffrets commémoratifs au profit d’associations situées dans les 8 villes visitées par les dîners. Les coffrets ont été réalisés par un ébéniste : le Vicomte Linlay. Ils présentent une subtile marquèterie et des objets en argent réalisés par le joaillier et orfèvre italien Buccellati. Les objets étaient nichés dans des tiroirs secrets des coffrets.

Cet anniversaire aura donc été célébré avec élégance, avec beaucoup d’outils et en explorant de nombreux territoires propres à la « marque ». Les différentes initiatives, sites Internet et brochures émanant du Domaine Clarence Dillon ne manquent pas d’innovations, de prestige et sont dans l’air du temps. Certes, elles n’en restent pas moins très classiques. Le tout puise en effet ses racines sur les bases solides d’une imagerie de la tradition des vins prestigieux et du raffinement français. Mais sans s’endormir. Car enfin, il n’est pas nécessaire d’être moderne pour être innovant. Connaître son histoire, la respecter, nourrir ses valeurs dans le présent… c’est ainsi que l’on reste maître de son époque.

Sites Internet : http://www.domaineclarencedillon.com
http://www.mission-haut-brion.com
http://www.clarendelle.com
Et pour découvrir les films des dîners : http://www.haut-brion.com

Photos : Domaine Clarence Dillon

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *