R__jeu_m

Triumph: 125 years celebrated with tomorrow’s designers

Triumph is celebrating 125 years of « corsetterie ». The anniversary is quite discreet, yet, it bets on the T.I.A. – the Triumph Inspiration Award – a competition in which the brand has cleverly woven links with the great fashion designers-to-be.

R__jeu.jpg

A “Success Story”, such is the headline of one of the site pages. Indeed, we can talk about a Success Story for this lingerie brand. A corset-maker and a retailer founded the original company, with 6 sewing machines and 6 employees, in a barn in Germany in 1886. They soon employ 150 people. And in 1902, they name their brand Triumph, wishing to give their brand a name which would be understandable all over the world. The rumor says: they named the brand after the Arc de Triomphe. Anyway, this is the sign of the visionary nature of brand managers that last: the Parisian chic, globalization… the name already includes the ingredients of its success. From technique innovations to brand purchases, Triumph is a group that counts in the lingerie world today – it is, for example, the owner of such brands as Hom, Valisère and Sloggy.

The products and collections are highlighted at present. However, there is a certain corporatism in its story telling. The exercise is actually perilous when the speech is about social or environmental commitment. Indeed, France has recently known hard times in the “corsetterie” production field; the “corsetterie” know-how seems actually to be dying on the French territory, considering the closing down of many workshops. And one can only have fake smiles when reading the self-satisfaction lines of the French subsidiary, which prides itself on the successful redeployment of the Alsatian production site, today converted into a distribution center.

But let’s go back to the celebration! As many brands defying time and markets but not willing to sink into an old-fashioned attitude, Triumph has taken the initiative in associating the brand to design and talents to-be. For the 4th year, a wide and international competition is organized with students of design and fashion schools of many countries.
For the celebration of the 125 years, Triumph has decided to enlarge the spin-offs of the competition to the public. In Paris, at the Galeries Lafayette 3rd floor entrance (the floor is mostly dedicated to lingerie), a “podium” offered a special promotion event by Triumph: exhibiting 9 busts wearing the creations of the Istituto Marangoni Paris students (who therefore represent France in the T.I.A. competition) This was also the opportunity for a game; the department store customers were asked to vote for their favorite creations; with a gift: one year free Triumph lingerie (what items exactly… no idea) and one year subscription free to Gala.

Buste1.jpg

Buste2.jpg

Anyway, you can follow the steps of the competition on facebook and on the dedicated website:
http://www.triumphinspirationaward.com/

Photos : SB

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

R__jeu_m

Triumph : 125 ans fêtés avec les designers de demain

La marque Triumph fête 125 ans de corsetterie. L’anniversaire est assez discret, mais il mise sur le T.I.A., le Triumph Inspiration Award, un concours dans lequel la marque s’est habilement liée aux futurs noms de la mode et du design.

R__jeu.jpg

« Succes Story » titre une des pages du site. En effet, on peut parler de Success Story pour cette marque de lingerie. C’est un corsetier et un marchand qui ont fondé l’entreprise originelle, avec 6 machines à coudre et 6 employés, dans une grange, en Allemagne, en 1886. Rapidement, ils emploient 150 personnes. Et en 1902, ils baptisent leur marque Triumph. Ils avaient souhaité donner à leur marque un nom qui serait facile à comprendre partout dans le monde. Le nom est, dit-on inspiré de l’Arc de Triomphe. On reconnaît le côté visionnaire des dirigeants de marques qui perdurent : le chic « parisien », la globalisation… le nom contient déjà les ingrédients de son succès.
D’innovations techniques en achat de marques, Triumph est aujourd’hui un groupe qui compte dans le monde de la lingerie – possédant par exemple les marques Hom, Valisère et Sloggy.

La part belle est actuellement plutôt laissée aux produits et aux collections. Mais on trouve tout de même un certain corporatisme dans sa façon de se raconter. L’exercice est d’ailleurs périlleux lorsqu’il s’agit d’engagement social ou environnemental. La France a en effet très récemment connu des moments douloureux dans le secteur de la fabrication de corsetterie – un savoir-faire qui semble d’ailleurs en voie de disparition sur le sol français compte tenu de la fermeture de nombreux ateliers. Et on ne peut que sourire un peu jaune en lisant les lignes d’autosatisfaction de la filiale française, qui se vante de la reconversion réussie du site de production alsacien, aujourd’hui transformé en centre de distribution.

Mais revenons à la fête ! Comme de nombreuses marques qui défient le temps et les marchés mais ne veulent pas sombrer dans une attitude vieillotte, Triumph s’est engagé dans une démarche l’associant au design et aux talents en devenir. Pour la 4e année, un vaste concours international est organisé auprès des élèves d’écoles de design et de mode de nombreux pays.
Pour la célébration des 125 ans, Triumph a décidé d’étendre les retombées du concours auprès du grand public. A Paris, à l’entrée du 3e étage des Galeries Lafayette (étage quasi dédié à la lingerie), un « podium » présentait une animation Triumph : 9 bustes portant les créations des élèves de l’Istituto Marangoni Paris (qui représente donc la France au concours T.I.A.) sont exposées. C’était également l’occasion d’un jeu pour les clientes du grand magasin appelées à voter pour les créations préférées avec une dotation : un an de lingerie Triumph (ce que cela représente exactement…aucune idée) et un an d’abonnement à Gala.

Buste1.jpg

Buste2.jpg

Vous pouvez en tout cas suivre le concours sur facebook et sur le site dédié :
http://www.triumphinspirationaward.com/

Photos : SB

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *