Couv_livret_m

Bulgari at Le Grand Palais

__”Bulgari – 125 ans de magnificence italienne” (Bulgari – 125 years of Italian magnificence) is the continuation of the retrospective set up in Rome for the brand’s anniversary in 2009. Enriched, it shows 600 pieces, mostly never exposed before, from private collections, such as from Elizabeth Taylor’s or from Bulgari ‘s Vintage collection. With this event, Bulgari happens to be the first jeweler to enter the nave of Le Grand Palais.
Nice teaser, then. What about the visit?__

Couv_livret.jpg

First of all, hats off for the scenography!.
The entrance is a giant structure similar to a black diamond. Already impressed, we stand in the heart of the gem.

Entree.jpg
The visitor then walks into an antechamber focused on history (a chronology, a portrait of Sotirio Bulgari, the founder) and further on into a maze of black and hushed rooms where one can be dazzled at will by precious stones.
In each room, great displays show jewelry that seems to float in the air.
On each side, the atmosphere is subdued by monochrome and enlightened prints on canvas covers (geographic maps, jewels drawings, actresses’ portraits).
Onto the black floor the house badge and floral patterns are projected.

Ecusson_copie.jpg
On screens hanging in the air short videos illustrate a subject of the displays.
Screen walls show old movies in which actresses appear wearing Bulgari jewelry.
Each corner is suffused with a melody or a background sound linked with the theme.
Most of the rooms have an extension, a small projection space where one can watch a video (archive pictures editing, newspaper clipping, postcards, paintings or even movie extracts) with comments to illustrate the exhibited period from a more corporate point of view.
Overall, the experience is quite sensorial, even if one does not touch anything.

How does the Bulgari House tell its story?
Through its creations to start with. The exhibition is a great catalogue to be looked at very closely.
Then, through Cinecitta, and by extension the cinema. If the Italian cinema of the Dolce Vita did not establish the brand, it certainly established its position among the greatest jewelry houses in the world. Here we are concerning the guiding principles.
The main interest for the visitor will then be to see these treasures very closely! The exhibition is indeed like Aladdin’s cave.
Besides, one learns the hues of sapphires are so varied: tangerine, garnet…

The exhibit being set up chronologically, we mostly witness the evolution, the assertion of a style, of its codes through the history of design and of the Italian, European and worldwide society.
Indeed, the visit begins with a few trays, buckles, that is to say silver pieces from the end of the 19th century that were made by Sotirio Bulgari.

Chatelaine_seule.jpg Chatelaines.jpg

With his father, he learns the principles of his trade. Then, he takes an interest in precious stones, opens a shop in Rome and turns to jewels.
From the 20’s and the 30’s, one remembers Les Arts Décoratifs, geometric patterns, convertible jewels: like a necklace turned into a diadem, a bracelet revealing a brooch. And the famous Trombino ring, created by Sotirio’s son for his fiancée.

Annees_20.jpg
Rubis.jpg Saphirs.jpg

In 1940, Bulgari comes back to yellow gold, as the trade of stones is blocked by war, jewels get bigger in size.

Then we move to the 50’s and 60’s. A first room evokes the Dolce Vita era, Cinecitta, the actresses who are legendary today thanks to Anna Magnani’s collection, and the movies starring Elizabeth Taylor and Gina Lollobrigida…

Mur_ecrans.jpg
But this era is also a turning point in Bulgari’s design and style. The following pieces evoke it: Bulgari departs from the French school and finds its own style; a style inspired by Greco-Roman classicism (Sotirio was Greek and settled down in Italy in 1884), by the Italian Renaissance and Roman goldsmith’s trade of the 19th. Bulgari uses yellow gold, colors, a lot of skillfully mixed colors.

Turquoises.jpg

Plastron_emeraudes.jpg

The change is visible through jewelry, but also through the Giardinetto collection and the tremblings: these floral brooches, equipped with a spring mechanism allowing some parts of the brooches to move, quite a remarkable feature. Walk heavily beside the display and you will see the little flowers wriggling and the diamonds shining around you!

Then, a corridor showing many jewelry drawings….

Couloir_dessins.jpg

…leads us to another room conceived as the climax of the visit: the display of Elizabeth’s Taylor collection. It testifies the actress’s passion for the brand jewels. Men fought for her with precious stones and Richard Burton was way ahead.

Back to the corridor to move to the 70’s. A wall, reminding the visitor in an imposing manner of a quote by Andy Warhol, sets the tone. This was the decade of the house worldwide growth, but mostly of an eclectic (and worldwide as well) creativity. At the sound of a song by Brigitte Bardot, we discover how Bulgari tried to take away the aura of evening jewelry, by preferring yellow gold on more imposing pieces (the reflection of this era) such as very long necklaces or on pieces inspired from India or Pop Art. We can also notice a return to decorative and unusual objects: the champagne stopper, place mark or “Melone” bags.

Is the Bulgari style mature at that time? That is what is suggested by the next room dedicated to its “icons” ie. the redundant themes of the brand. With no regard to chronology this time, the exhibit compiles Tubogas (metallic ribbons), snake watches (with the Ssssssssss of snakes emitted in the background), coins and laces.

The last room, dedicated to the 80’s and the 90’s, looks less attractive. Indeed, this is the time of opulence and colors mastery. A lot of round-necklaces, pearls, nature inspirations with the Naturalia collection (in a softer expression than for the Giardinetto or the floral art of the 20’s and a purer sophistication than in the tremblings).
The 8th room is not a room. It is a huge glass cube unveiling the latest great creations of Bulgari, showing a beginning of the 21st century looking for itself between great classics and modernity.

Parures_2000.jpg

Dernieres_parures.jpg

Is it the reason why we are left unsatisfied at the end of the visit?

Some lacks to be noticed however.
Legitimacy – Artistic legitimacy first. Bulgari is appearing above all as an era witness. Is this why the “I always go to Bulgari’s because it is the most important museum of contemporary art” by Andy Warhol appears, at the middle of the visit, in gold letters, as an absolute pledge.
It is the same for the legend legitimacy. The highlighting of legendary actresses, Elizabeth Taylor in particular, is judicious. Yet, the anecdotes are too few and repeated to overdose. The quote by Richard Burton: “The only word Elizabeth knows is Bulgari” is repeated again and again on wall print, on the audio-guide comment, in the movie comment…

History – Great History. Indeed, we are taught that World War II caused the requisition of platinum, leading to the use of yellow gold and the freezing of precious stones trade. But what about those families who parted with their jewels? What about the gold and stones salvage? The Belgian diamond dealers gone to the United States or England? And then? Without going up to African geopolitics and blood diamonds, the brand could tackle the historical links in production, trade and society.
– The story. We are told about Sotirio, about his vision and his sons. What about the continuation of the dynasty? The family is still present in the House though.

Production – I have read somewhere that the Bulgari exhibition lets us go backstage. Except for some drawings in a corridor, some technical explanations on jewelry production (for the example the long hours spent on the flexible necklace to be seen at the end), we learn little about Bulgari know-how, its craftsmen, its creative process.

Dessin_poire.jpg
Croquis.png

The group – Today, it is highly diversified, with not less than 52 companies. And its will is to deal with luxury globally: watches, accessories, silk, leather goods, glasses, perfume, hotel business… the list is quite long.

Today’s company vision – Strategy first. A strategy of vertical integration that, for example, recently allows Bulgari to produce watches from start to finish. Then, its values. Yet, as explained in one page of the Internet site, Bulgari has committed regarding war diamonds – following the Kimberly process – and stones from Myanmar.

What remains for us is the magic of stones and colors that make of this exhibition a fairy tale for enamored elegant women. Come on, don’t you turn your nose up to your pleasure! Even love is there: love of a job (because this is how every great luxury houses are born), love of stones, love of women. The love of a man for his woman. Because the visit ends on the true story of a loving man, who has secretly purchased a necklace – made as a diamond multicolored sapphires lace (of around 400 carats, not to say the least) and who let it be exhibited in the last display. He took the opportunity of the opening ceremony to let his beloved woman discover that her name was written just under it and therefore that this wonder was hers.

Photos : SB

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Couv_livret_m

Bulgari au Grand Palais

« Bulgari – 125 ans de magnificence italienne » est la suite de la rétrospective organisée à Rome pour l’anniversaire de la marque en 2009. Enrichie, elle présente 600 pièces, dont beaucoup n’avaient jamais été exposées, issues de collections privées – dont celle d’Elizabeth Taylor – ou de la collection Vintage de Bulgari. Cet événement en fait le premier joaillier à s’installer sous la nef du Grand Palais.
Le menu est donc alléchant. Et que donne la visite ?

Couv_livret.jpg

Coup de chapeau tout d’abord pour la scénographie.
L’entrée est une gigantesque structure tel un diamant noir. Déjà impressionné, on est au cœur du gemme.

Entree.jpg
Le voyageur entre ensuite dans une anti-chambre axée sur l’histoire (chronologie, portrait de Sotirio Bulgari le fondateur), puis dans le dédale de salles en écrin noir et feutré où les pierres peuvent nous éblouir à volonté.
Dans chaque salle, de grandes vitrines exposent les parures qui semblent flotter.
De chaque côté, des bâches imprimées en monochrome (cartes géographiques, croquis de bijoux, portraits d’actrices) et illuminées tamisent l’ambiance.
Sur le sol noir, des projections lumineuses (écusson de la maison, motifs floraux).

Ecusson_copie.jpg
Des écrans suspendus dans l’air proposent des films courts illustrant un sujet des vitrines.
Des murs d’écrans reprennent de vieux films dans lesquels les actrices apparaissaient parées de Bulgari.
Une musique ou un son d’ambiance en lien avec la thématique enveloppe doucement chaque recoin.
La plupart des salles sont prolongées de petits espaces de projection où l’on propose un film (montage de photos d’archives, extraits de presse, cartes postales, peintures, voire extraits de films) commenté pour illustrer d’un point de vue plus corporate la période exposée.
Au global, l’expérience est assez sensorielle, même si on ne touche à rien.

Comment la maison Bulgari se raconte-elle ?
Par ses créations pour commencer. L’exposition est un grand catalogue à regarder de près.
Par Cinecitta ensuite et le cinéma par extension. Si le cinéma italien de la Dolce Vita n’a pas fait la marque, il a sûrement fait sa position parmi les premières maisons de joaillerie mondiales. Voilà pour les fils conducteurs.
Pour le visiteur, l’intérêt premier sera donc de voir des trésors de près ! L’exposition a en effet comme un air de caverne d’Ali Baba.
On apprend aussi qu’il existe des saphirs de toutes les couleurs, des grenats mandarine…

Mais, l’exposition étant organisée chronologiquement, on assiste surtout à l’évolution, l’affirmation d’un style, de ses codes, à travers l’histoire du design et de la société italienne, européenne puis mondiale.
La visite commence en effet par quelques plateaux, boucles, bref des pièces d’argent de la fin du XIXe siècle travaillées par Sotirio Bulgari.

Chatelaine_seule.jpg Chatelaines.jpg

Il apprend, avec son père, les bases de son métier. Puis, il s’intéresse aux pierres précieuses, ouvre sa boutique à Rome et s’oriente vers les bijoux.
Des années 20 et 30, on retient les arts décoratifs, les motifs géométriques. Et les bijoux transformables : un collier qui devient diadème, un bracelet qui révèle une broche. Et la fameuse bague Trombino, créée par le fils de Sotirio pour sa fiancée.

Annees_20.jpg
Rubis.jpg Saphirs.jpg

En 1940, Bulgari revient à l’or jaune. Le commerce des pierres étant bloqué par la guerre, les bijoux gagnent en volume.

On passe ensuite aux années 50 et 60. Une première salle évoque le temps de la Dolce Vita, Cinecitta, les actrices aujourd’hui légendes avec la collection Anna Magnani, les films d’Elizabeth Taylor, Gina Lollobrigida…

Mur_ecrans.jpg
Mais la période est aussi une charnière dans le design et pour le style Bulgari. C’est ce qu’évoquent les pièces qui suivent : Bulgari s’éloigne de l’école française et trouve son propre style : un style inspiré du classicisme gréco-romain (Sotirio était grec et s’était installé en Italie en 1884), de la Renaissance italienne et de l’orfèvrerie romaine du XIXe. Bulgari utilise l’or jaune, de la couleur, beaucoup de couleurs savamment mélangées.

Turquoises.jpg

Plastron_emeraudes.jpg

Le changement est visible à travers les parures, mais aussi la collection Giardinetto. Et les tremblants : ces broches à thème floral, dotées d’un mécanisme à ressort, avaient la particularité de bouger par endroit. Marchez d’un pas un peu lourd à côté de la vitrine : vous verrez les petites fleurs frétiller et les éclats des diamants s’affoler tout autour de vous !

Un couloir affichant de nombreux dessins de parures…

Couloir_dessins.jpg

…nous mène ensuite vers une salle en point d’orgue dans la visite : la collection Elizabeth Taylor. Elle témoigne de la passion de l’actrice pour les bijoux de la marque. Les hommes se sont battus pour elle à coups de pierres précieuses, Richard Burton le premier.

Retour dans le couloir pour passer vers les années 70. C’est un mur rappelant de manière imposante une citation d’Andy Warhol qui donne le ton. La décennie fut celle de l’expansion mondiale de la maison, mais surtout d’une créativité éclectique – elle aussi mondiale. Accompagnés d’une chanson de Brigitte Bardot, nous découvrons comment Bulgari a cherché à désacraliser la parure de soirée, en mettant l’or jaune en avant sur des pièces plus imposantes, reflets de l’époque, comme les grands sautoirs, ou mêlé aux influences de l’Inde ou du Pop Art. On note également un retour vers les objets décoratifs, insolites : le bouchon de bouteille de champagne marque place ou les sacs « Melone ».

A cette époque, le style Bulgari est-il à maturité ? C’est ce que suggère la salle suivante, consacrée aux « icônes », c’est-à-dire aux thèmes redondants de la marque. Sans fil chronologique cette fois, l’exposition compile les Tubogas (rubans métalliques), les montres serpent (accompagnés des Ssssss des serpents en fond sonore), les monnaies, le cordon.

La dernière salle consacrée aux années 80 et 90 fait presque pâle figure. Certes, c’est le temps de l’opulence, de la couleur maîtrisée. Beaucoup de colliers ras du cou, des perles, l’inspiration de la nature avec la collection Naturalia, dans une expression plus douce que la Giardinetto ou l’art floral des années 20 et dans une sophistication plus épurée que dans les tremblants.
La salle 8 n’est pas une salle. C’est un immense cube de verre qui dévoile les dernières grandes créations Bulgari, présentant un début de XXIe siècle qui se cherche entre grands classiques et modernité.

Parures_2000.jpg

Dernieres_parures.jpg

Est-ce pour cela qu’on reste un peu sur sa faim en cette fin d’exposition ?

Quelques manques sont tout de même à noter.
La légitimité – La légitimité artistique, tout d’abord. Bulgari fait davantage figure d’un témoin de son époque. Est-ce pour cela que le « Je vais toujours chez Bulgari parce que c’est le plus important musée d’art contemporain » d’Andy Warhol figure en lettres d’or, comme une caution absolue, à mi-parcours.
Même chose pour la légitimité de la légende. La mise en valeur des actrices de légende, en particulier Elizabeth Taylor, est judicieuse. Pourtant les anecdotes sont minces. Et répétées jusqu’à l’overdose. Comme cette réplique de Richard Burton : « Le seul mot qu’Elizabeth connaisse est Bulgari », répétée sur l’impression du mur, dans le commentaire de l’audio guide, dans celui du film…

L’histoire – La grande histoire. Certes, on nous explique que la seconde guerre mondiale avait provoqué la réquisition du platine, d’où l’utilisation de l’or jaune et le gel du commerce des pierres précieuses. Mais que dire de ces familles qui se sont séparées de leurs bijoux, de la récupération de l’or et des pierres ? Des diamantaires belges partis vers les Etats-Unis, l’Angleterre ? Et ensuite ? Sans aller jusqu’à la géopolitique africaine et les diamants du sang, les liens historiques dans la fabrication, le commerce, la société, pourraient être abordés.
La petite histoire. On nous parle de Sotirio, de sa vision, de ses fils. Qu’en est-il de la poursuite de la dynastie ? La famille est pourtant toujours présente dans la maison.

La fabrication – J’ai lu quelque part que l’exposition nous faisait entrer dans les coulisses de Bulgari. Hormis les quelques dessins dans un couloir, les quelques explications techniques sur la confection des parures (les heures passées sur le collier souple façon dentelle de la fin par exemple), on en sait peu sur le métier de Bulgari, ses petites mains, son processus créatif.

Dessin_poire.jpg
Croquis.png

Le groupe – Il est aujourd’hui très diversifié, avec pas moins de 52 sociétés. Et il veut traiter le luxe dans son ensemble : montres, accessoires, soie, maroquinerie, lunettes, parfums, hôtellerie… la liste est longue.

La vision d’entreprise aujourd’hui – La stratégie tout d’abord. Une stratégie d’intégration verticale qui, par exemple, permet depuis peu à Bulgari de produire ses montres de bout en bout. Ses valeurs ensuite. Bulgari s’engage pourtant, comme l’expose une page de son site Internet : face aux diamants de la guerre, suivant le processus de Kimberly. Face aux pierres provenant du Myanmar.

Reste la magie des pierres, des couleurs, qui font de l’exposition un conte de Noël pour élégantes énamourées. Allons, ne boudons pas notre plaisir ! Même l’amour est au rendez-vous : l’amour d’un métier (car c’est ainsi que naissent toutes les grandes maisons de luxe), l’amour des pierres, l’amour des femmes. L’amour d’un homme pour sa femme. Car la visite s’achève sur l’histoire vraie d’un mari amoureux, qui a acquis en secret un collier réalisé comme une dentelle de diamants et de saphirs multicolores (pour environ 400 carats, quand même) et l’a laissé être exposé dans la dernière vitrine. Il a profité de l’inauguration pour faire découvrir à son aimée que son nom était écrit juste au-dessous et donc que cette merveille était pour elle.

Photos : SB

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *