Lalique_prospectus_m

A great French Museum for Lalique

Parisians will soon envy Wingen-sur-Moder. In this little town, north of Alsace, the future museum dedicated to Lalique, a luxury brand, is about to open.

Lalique_prospectus.jpg

How incredible! There was no museum dedicated to Lalique House in France. On July 1st, the opening of the Lalique Museum in Wingen-sur Moder will put an end to this anomaly.

A territorial project
Why this village in the Vosges? Because this is the unique production site of Lalique, established there for 90 years. But also because this Museum is more than a brand project: it is a regional project, a common work for a common patrimony. Glass making is a tradition in the region. The Museum is actually erected on the former glass production site. Lalique is therefore the ideal ambassador for the intervillage grouping. Thus, the municipalities, the Conseil Général, the Conseil Régional – (elected councils respectively at the level of the départment and the région) and Lalique Company of course got involved in the Museum construction. They invested 8,78 million Euros, according to L’Express magazine. The items have been acquired thanks to the support of sponsors, of loans from Lalique Company, private collectors, Parisian Museums (the Arts Décoratifs, The Arts et Métiers), but also thanks to the Collectivités territoriales (administrative division with a higher degree of autonomy than a region). National decision-makers have followed this territorial craze. In 2007, Lalique had already been granted the “enterprise du patrimoine vivant” (company of the living patrimony) label. The draft for the construction of the Museum has been awarded the “Pôle d’excellence Rurale” (rural excellence center) label. And even before its opening, the Museum is recognized and given the “Musée de France” label.

1-Lalique-Wilmotte-Artefactory.jpg

Facts
For the summer tourists’ rush, the Museum will open its doors on to a collection of 550 items, a 900 square meters exhibition of drawings, jewels, flasks, hostess sets, lamps, etc. The Wilmotte agency has prepared a modern scenography: with sensory approach of the environments, touch pads, sounds, and lighting effects.

3-Lalique-Museographie-Wilmotte-Artefactory.jpg
Regarding the facilities, nothing has been forgotten either: tape guide, gardens, shop, catering, and documentation.

Museographie_2__Wilmotte-_Artefactory_-_Copie.jpg
The themes
The themes of the Museum will include:

  • The three Fs: Femmes (women), Faune (fauna) and Flore (flora).
  • Sacred art
  • The historical, social or technical contexts

Women, fauna and flora are the favorite themes of René Lalique (1860 – 1945), who founded the House in 1885, in Paris.

Lalique_Rene.jpg
At the beginning, he draws jewels. Between Art Nouveau and Arts Décoratifs, he rapidly wins recognition as great creator. He tirelessly explores nature and woman’s body.

9-Ambre-de-Siam-pour-Volnay-1920_Lalique.jpg
Then, with François Coty, he becomes engrossed in the perfume universe and deeply changes it by inventing the perfume bottle. From then on, he dedicates himself to glass until the end of his life.

10-Capricornes-1912_Lalique.jpg

Sacred art is a less known aspect of René Lalique’s work. Though from 1929 he dedicates himself to it through stained glass by inventing a new process, or other items like his Christ de Lumière of La Chapelle de la Vierge Fidèle in Douvres La Délivrande in 1930.

The company’s context will make us cross eras, i.e. the 1900 World Fair, and allow us to meet the emblematic people that René Lalique met or mixed with: Britain monarchs, Japanese princes, Sarah Bernhardt, Calouste Gulbenkian the oil tycoon. The production technique is not disregarded: through multimedia we will be able to discover the House know-how. The production steps of the famous Bacchantes vase will be detailed.

The family
If René Lalique remains the great symbol of his House, in particular thanks to glass and flasks, his descendants also have an important place in the company history. From 1945, when his father died, Marc Lalique turned the House towards crystal. Between 1977 and 1996, Marie-Claude Lalique strengthened the House artistic dimension. Even though René Lalique is a major figure in the Museum – which was actually first called the Imaginary Museum of René Lalique during the construction – the exhibition will also give an account of his two successors’ contributions.

Let’s see all of it this summer, then! Of course, there have been criticisms from all sides pointing out the huge cost for the municipalities and the region. Yet, the official purpose of the place is to create a socio-economic dynamic in the Petite-Pierre district. Others blame the company for a mere self-promotion. Is it the reason why Lalique is so quiet before the D-day of the opening (few press releases, no references on the Internet site of the company, no link toward the temporary site of the Museum)? What does it matter? We will certainly not turn our nose up at the delight to engross ourselves into the patrimonial and artistic dimensions of such a brand!

Musée Lalique
Rue de Hochberg
67 290 Wingen-sur-Moder
www.musee-lalique.com

Photos: © Lalique

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Lalique_prospectus_m

Un grand Musée français pour Lalique

Les parisiens vont jalouser Wingen-sur-Moder. C’est dans cette petite ville du nord de l’Alsace que s’ouvrira le prochain Musée consacré à une marque de luxe : Lalique.

Lalique_prospectus.jpg

C’est incroyable. Il n’y avait pas de Musée dédié à la Maison Lalique en France. Le 1er juillet prochain, l’anomalie sera réparée avec l’ouverture du Musée Lalique à Wingen-sur Moder.

Un projet territorial
Pourquoi ce village des Vosges ? Parce que c’est l’unique lieu de production de la Maison Lalique, qui y est installée depuis 90 ans. Mais aussi parce que ce Musée, plus qu’un projet de marque, est un projet régional, une œuvre commune pour un patrimoine commun. La région est de tradition verrière. Le Musée est d’ailleurs construit sur un ancien site verrier. Lalique est donc l’ambassadeur idéal pour ce regroupement intercommunal. Ainsi, ce sont les communes, le Conseil Général, le Conseil Régional et bien sûr la société Lalique qui se sont investis dans la construction du Musée. Et qui ont investis 8,78 millions d’Euros d’après l’Express. Les pièces ont été acquises grâce au soutien de mécènes, aux dépôts de la société Lalique et de collectionneurs privés, à des Musées parisiens (les Arts décoratifs, les Arts et Métiers), mais aussi via les collectivités territoriales. L’engouement territorial n’a pas été démenti par les plus hautes instances. Lalique avait déjà obtenu en 2007 le label « entreprise du patrimoine vivant ». Le projet de construction du Musée a bénéficié de celui de « Pôle d’excellence Rurale ». Et avant même son ouverture, il est consacré en obtenant l’appellation « Musée de France ».

1-Lalique-Wilmotte-Artefactory.jpg

Les faits
Au moment de l’afflux de touristes estivaux, le Musée ouvrira ses portes sur une collection de 550 pièces exposées sur 900 m2 : dessins, bijoux, flacons, arts de la table, luminaires, etc. L’agence Wilmotte a concocté une scénographie moderne : approche sensorielle des univers, tablette tactile, sons, jeux de lumières.

3-Lalique-Museographie-Wilmotte-Artefactory.jpg
Dans l’infrastructure, rien ne semble oublié non plus : audio guide, jardins, boutique, restauration, documentation.

Museographie_2__Wilmotte-_Artefactory_-_Copie.jpg
Les thèmes
Les thèmes du Musée seront :

  • Les trois F : Femme, Faune et Flore.
  • L’art sacré
  • Le contexte historique, social ou technique

La femme, la faune et la flore étaient les thèmes de prédilection de René Lalique (1860 – 1945) qui a fondé la Maison en 1885, à Paris.

Lalique_Rene.jpg
Au commencement, il dessine des bijoux. Entre Art Nouveau et Arts Décoratifs, il s’impose rapidement en tant que grand créateur. Il explore la nature et le corps de la femme inlassablement.

9-Ambre-de-Siam-pour-Volnay-1920_Lalique.jpg
Ensuite, avec François Coty, il se plongera dans l’univers du parfum et le bouleversera en étant l’inventeur du flacon. Il se consacrera alors au verre jusqu’à la fin de sa vie.

10-Capricornes-1912_Lalique.jpg

L’art sacré est un aspect moins connu de la création de René Lalique. Il s’y est pourtant consacré à travers les vitraux, dès 1929 en inventant un procédé, ou d’autres objets comme son Christ de Lumière de la Chapelle de la Vierge Fidèle à Douvres La Délivrande en 1930.

Le contexte de la Maison Lalique nous fera traverser les époques, l’Exposition universelle de 1900 par exemple, et retrouver leurs figures emblématiques que René Lalique avait croisés ou côtoyés : les souverains britanniques, les princes japonais, Sarah Bernhardt, le magnat du pétrole Calouste Gulbenkian. La technique de fabrication n’est pas oubliée : à travers des supports multimédia, nous pourrons découvrir le savoir-faire de la Maison. Les étapes de fabrication du célèbre vase Bacchantes seront détaillées.

La famille
Si René Lalique reste le grand symbole de sa Maison, en particulier grâce au verre et aux flacons, ses descendants ont également une place importante dans l’histoire de la société : Marc Lalique a orienté la Maison, dès 1945 au décès de son père, vers le cristal. Marie-Claude Lalique, de 1977 à 1996, a fortifié sa dimension artistique. Même si René Lalique tient une place majeure dans le Musée – qui était d’ailleurs appelé Musée imaginaire de René Lalique lors de sa construction – l’exposition relatera également les contributions de ses deux successeurs.

Rendez-vous donc cet été pour la découverte de cet espace ! Les critiques, bien sûr, ont déjà fusé de toutes parts, évoquant le coût énorme pour les communes et la région. La vocation officielle de l’endroit est pourtant de créer une dynamique socio-économique dans le canton de la Petite-Pierre. D’autres accusent une simple promotion de l’entreprise. Est-ce pour cela que la Maison Lalique est aussi discrète avant le jour J de l’ouverture (peu de communiqués, pas de références sur le site Internet de la société, pas de lien vers le site provisoire du Musée) ?
Peu importe. Nous ne bouderons certes pas notre plaisir de plonger dans les dimensions patrimoniales et artistiques d’une telle marque !

Musée Lalique
Rue de Hochberg
67 290 Wingen-sur-Moder
www.musee-lalique.com

Photos : © Lalique

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *