Whirlpool France won’t bank on its longevity

2011 is celebrating the 100 years of Whirlpool. A nice opportunity that the brand has yet chosen to ignore in France.

Whirlpool is a top of the range brand of household appliances. It is also the market leader. Its image is finely honed and, though focused on mass-market concerns, comes closer to High-Tech codes. As a result, it is difficult to spot its patrimonial potential. Yet, here are the facts. Whirlpool turned a hundred-year-old in 2011.
Indeed, the brand was created in 1911 by the Upton family, the name being chosen in reference to the whirlpool washing-machine.
In recent years its main achievements have rather been the group, its figures and tactics. In 1989, the brand takes over Philips household appliances. It communicates about the merge on TV and about its products the following year. Then, Philips disappears from communication and from the products in 1995. With the purchase of Maytag in 2005, Whirlpool becomes number one on the market. It has focused on the top range since, particularly with its brand Kitchen Aid.
On the innovations level, it is difficult to know what the striking facts are. The French Internet site offers no help actually. And Whirlpool France has chosen not to celebrate this anniversary. Yet, with such watchwords as “a passion for innovation” and “smart product research”, the chances are high that the brand could bring out many examples of its research feats. The everyday life of women and of households has considerably changed thanks to such companies inventions. The illustration by history of this type of high-tech innovation could have reminded us how much our lives have improved thanks to these businessmen’s passion. Is the American brand afraid of unveiling its hegemony to French people? Doesn’t it feel any pride in its technology?

Anyway, the cultural difference between France and the United States can be seen through this example. In America, they are rather proud of this centenary illustrated by a dedicated logo
logo_whirlpool.png

and by an illustrated chronology on Whirlpool corporate site, available here: http://www.whirlpoolcorp.com/100/includes/documents/FactSheet.pdf

The brand tells its story over the years. Technological opportunism, financial gamble, investments and managerial flexibility have saved this company that did not meet with an immediate success. This enormous group construction went through human adventures, but also through a lot of purchases. America is not afraid of its success in business. It is not afraid of talking about historical industrial hazards, nor about how companies survived during World Wars. Besides, Whirlpool emphasizes its management and its involvement in social progress. This is how, over there, a company can truly be an economic agent and even promote citizenship. When, on top of it, the company has lived through 100 years of industrial and commercial history…

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

logo_whirlpool

Whirlpool France ne misera pas sur sa longévité

2011 marque les 100 ans de Whirlpool. Une belle occasion que la marque a pourtant choisi de taire en France.

Whirlpool est une marque d’électroménager synonyme de haut de gamme. C’est aussi le leader du marché. Son image est plutôt léchée et, même centrée sur des préoccupations grande conso, flirte avec le High Tech. Du coup, il est difficile de déceler son potentiel patrimonial. Pourtant les faits sont là et en 2011, Whirlpool a 100 ans.
En effet, la marque a été créée en 1911 par la famille Upton. Whirpool signifiant tourbillon, c’est le nom qui lui est choisi, en référence à la machine à laver tourbillon.
Ces dernières années, c’est plutôt en termes de groupe, de chiffres et de tactique qu’on compte ses exploits. En 1989, elle reprend l’électroménager de Philips. Leur mariage est affiché en télévision et sur les produits l’année suivante. Philips disparaît ensuite de la communication et des produits en 1995. Avec l’achat de Maytag en 2005, Whirlpool s’assoit en tant que n°1 mondial du marché. Depuis, elle mise sur le haut de gamme, notamment avec sa marque Kitchen Aid.
Côté innovations, difficile de savoir quels sont les véritables faits marquants. D’ailleurs, le site français n’y aide pas. Et Whirlpool France a choisi de ne pas célébrer cet anniversaire. Pourtant, avec pour mots d’ordre « la passion pour l’innovation » et « la recherche de produits intelligents », il y a fort à parier que la marque puisse donner de nombreux exemples de ses prouesses en recherche. La vie des femmes puis des ménages a considérablement changé grâce aux inventions de telles sociétés. L’illustration par l’histoire de cette technicité, de la pointe de l’innovation, aurait pu rappeler à quel point notre vie s’est améliorée grâce à la passion de ces entrepreneurs. La marque américaine a-t-elle peur de montrer son hégémonie à la France ? Ne voit-elle pas de fierté dans sa technologie ?

On peut en tout cas percevoir à travers cet exemple la différence culturelle qu’il existe entre la France et les Etats-Unis. Outre Atlantique, on est plutôt fier de ce centenaire, illustré par un logo dédié
logo_whirlpool.png

et par une chronologie illustrée présent sur le site corporate de Whirlpool, consultable ici : http://www.whirlpoolcorp.com/100/includes/documents/FactSheet.pdf

La marque s’y raconte au fil des ans. Opportunisme technologique, paris financiers, investissements et souplesse managériale ont sauvé cette société qui n’a pas connu une gloire immédiate. La construction de l’énorme groupe est passée par des aventures humaines, mais aussi beaucoup d’acquisitions. L’Amérique n’a pas peur de ses succès entrepreneuriaux. Elle n’a pas peur non plus de parler des aléas industriels de l’histoire ni de comment les entreprises ont survécu pendant les grandes guerres. Whirlpool met également l’accent sur son management et son implication dans les progrès sociaux. C’est ainsi, là-bas, qu’une entreprise peut être un véritable acteur national, voire un outil de citoyenneté. Quand, en plus, elle a traversé 100 ans d’histoire industrielle et commerciale…

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *