CP_Jeep

Jeep, 70 years of adventure exhibited

The Motorvillage exhibition on Jeep takes us on the way to America’s wide open spaces. A lightweight portrait of a vehicle between World War and Superheroes, standards of the 50’s culture and consumption and of today’s marketing development.
CP_Jeep.jpg

Jeep is a typically American product! But, first of all, it is a product of war, of World Wars. The idea of a cross-country vehicle for men and weapons transport forms during World War I. At the beginning of World War II, the American Army is willing to materialize this idea and selects 135 industrials for a call for tenders. Though the Bantam company designs the vehicle, the Willys Company receives the plans in July 1941 and starts producing the vehicle, soon supported by Ford.

Willys.jpg

At the end of the War, the production is turned towards a civilian use and Jeep becomes a brand. Many origins are given to the Jeep name: it could be the phonetic result of GP (General Purpose), or the slang expression for GI’s, or the reference to a comics character. This may be why the name is part of the legend, because there is a Jeep legend indeed, with its fanatics, its collectors, its dedicated websites and numerous regularly published books.

Livre.jpg

Similarly, the calling of Jeep is not linear either. Once a war vehicle, it became a farming tool in the 50’s, a car designed for adventure and the utmost today. The very brand has actually had a lot of different owners, such as Kaiser Jeep, American Motors, Renault, Chrysler. Is this why there is some vagueness in its advertisement signatures?
And yet, the brand’s selected codes and words are clearly to be seen today: adventure, legend, escape, extreme, freedom, exploits. All the themes of the “outdoors” American hero are used in connection with comics (the “XIII” books) and by-products in the Motorvillage exhibition dedicated to Jeep’s 70th anniversary.

Produits_derives.jpg

On several floors in the Motorvillage space, you will be able to see ancient and new vehicles exhibited with their thematic “deco”, an artist’s stage settings, derivative displays.

Jeep_pique_nique.jpg
New_Jeep1.jpg

While you get in one of these new Jeep models, your little boy will have fun doing a pilotless mini-tour or a little climb.

Circuit.jpg
Grimpe.jpg
The Motorvillage space may be a little too small for this… but this is Paris, not the plains of America, right?
So, here is a light anniversary exhibition, playing with its clichés.

Jeep_plage.jpg

Exposition Jeep, 70 ans d’évasion et d’aventures
Till June, 23 2011
Motorvillage
2 rond point des Champs-Elysées
Paris 8e

The website of a fanatic, illustrating the beginning of Jeep’s History:
http://www.stef-jeep.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2:la-jeep-un-peu-dhistoire&catid=3:jeep&Itemid=15

Official website:
http://motorvillage.fr
http://www.jeep.fr/

Photos: SB

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CP_Jeep

Jeep, 70 ans d’aventures exposés

En route pour l’Amérique des grands espaces avec l’exposition Jeep de Motorvillage. Portrait léger d’un véhicule entre guerres mondiales et super héros, standards culturels et de consommation des années 50 et développement marketing d’aujourd’hui.
CP_Jeep.jpg

La Jeep est un produit typiquement américain ! Mais c’est d’abord un produit de la guerre, des grandes guerres.
C’est lors de la Première Guerre mondiale que l’idée d’un véhicule tout terrain pour le transport d’hommes et d’armes fait son apparition. A l’entrée de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’armée américaine veut concrétiser cette idée et lance un appel d’offre auprès de 135 industriels. La société Bantam conçoit les plans du véhicule mais en juillet 1941, c’est la société Willys qui les récupère et démarre la production, rapidement épaulée par Ford.

Willys.jpg

A la sortie de la guerre, la production s’oriente vers une utilisation civile et Jeep devient une marque. On attribue au nom de Jeep de nombreuses origines : serait-ce le résultat phonétique de GP, General Purpose ? ou bien l’argot des GI’s ? ou la référence à un personnage de BD ? C’est peut-être pourquoi il fait partie de la légende. Car il y a bien une légende Jeep, avec ses fans, ses collectionneurs, ses sites dédiés et de nombreux livres régulièrement publiés.

Livre.jpg

De la même façon, la vocation de la Jeep n’est pas linéaire. De véhicule de guerre, elle est devenue outil agricole dans les années 50, voiture de l’aventure et de l’extrême aujourd’hui. D’ailleurs la marque elle-même est passée entre de nombreuses mains, comme Kaiser Jeep, American Motors, Renault, Chrysler. Est-ce pour cela qu’on peut percevoir un certain flou dans les signatures associées ?
Mais les codes et les mots, eux, sont bien là aujourd’hui : aventure, légende, évasion, extrême, liberté, exploits. Toutes les thématiques du héros « outdoors » américain sont déclinées, associées à la BD (avec XIII), la vente de produits dérivés, dans l’exposition consacrée aux 70 ans de Jeep à l’espace Motorvillage.

Produits_derives.jpg

Sur plusieurs niveaux, vous pourrez voir anciens et nouveaux véhicules exposés avec leur thématique « déco », installations d’un artiste, vitrines de produits dérivés…

Jeep_pique_nique.jpg
New_Jeep1.jpg

Et pendant que vous prendrez place dans l’une des dernières Jeep, votre garçonnet pourra faire un mini-circuit de voitures télécommandées ou faire un peu de grimpette.

Circuit.jpg
Grimpe.jpg
On regrette un peu que l’espace soit parfois un peu étriqué… mais nous sommes à Paris, pas dans les vastes plaines américaines, hein !
Bref, une exposition d’anniversaire légère et qui s’amuse de ses clichés.

Jeep_plage.jpg

Exposition Jeep, 70 ans d’évasion et d’aventures
Jusqu’au 23 juin 2011
Motorvillage
2 rond point des Champs-Elysées
Paris 8e

Un site de passionné qui illustre bien le début de l’histoire de Jeep :
http://www.stef-jeep.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2:la-jeep-un-peu-dhistoire&catid=3:jeep&Itemid=15

Les sites officiels :
http://motorvillage.fr
http://www.jeep.fr/

Photos : SB

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *