Dior faced with Galliano: in search of the magic rubber

The scandal about John Galliano broke out just as the Dior exhibition at Le Bon Marché (formerly posted here) was displaying (besides the house great symbols) an artistic parallel between Christian Dior and John Galliano. But the shameful name has just been entirely withdrawn from the exhibit.

Dior is not the first company to be faced with a crisis affecting its history and bases. If books and theories regarding the crisis situation abound, no one holds the key. Each situation is unique and so is each company and each history. For many brands and companies, it is difficult to put up with some periods in their history. Colonialism and World Wars, for example, are unsafe subjects. Very often, they will be surrounded with silence, even if it means totally ignoring the promotion of the brand’s historical and cultural patrimony.
At the very moment when Dior is aiming at synthesizing, highlighting and staging the legacy of its two great creators, the crisis breaks out and challenges it all. For us, mere observers, the episode is quite interesting. We will witness the House choices. And the first one seems to be denial: erasing all the traces of this cursed name in the tribute exhibition.
And yet, no, dear Dior House, you cannot erase a man’s name from you history book, just like that, with a magic rubber.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dior face à Galliano : à la recherche de la gomme magique

Démarrée au moment du scandale autour de John Galliano, l’exposition Dior au Bon Marché (relatée précédemment ici) présentait, outre ses grands symboles, un parallèle créatif entre Christian Dior et John Galliano. Mais le nom honteux vient d’être entièrement retiré de l’exposition.

Dior n’est pas la première entreprise à faire face à une crise qui touche son histoire et ses fondements. Si les ouvrages et théories en matière de situation de crise abondent, nul ne détient pourtant la clé. Chaque situation est unique. Chaque entreprise et chaque histoire le sont aussi. Pour de nombreuses marques et sociétés, certains passages de l’histoire sont difficiles à assumer. Le colonialisme, les grandes guerres, par exemple, sont des sujets épineux. Bien souvent, on préfèrera les taire. Quitte à totalement zapper la valorisation du patrimoine historique et culturel de la marque.
Au moment où Dior cherchait à synthétiser, valoriser, mettre en scène les héritages de ses deux grands créateurs, la crise remet tout en question. Pour nous, simples observateurs, l’épisode est intéressant. Nous serons témoins des choix de la Maison de Couture. Et le premier semble être le déni. Effacer toutes les traces de ce nom maudit dans l’exposition hommage.
Et pourtant, non, chère Maison Dior, on n’efface pas un homme de son histoire, comme ça, d’un coup de gomme magique.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *