cocktail_m

700 years of Armagnac – 7th and last part

2010 is over and so is this noteworthy anniversary. We have come to the end of our Armagnac saga. History, communication, marketing, trade,… Armagnac evolves at the rate of the ones who make it, dismantle it, raise it and sell it. What about the taste? And what about the consumer?
cocktail.jpg

Beside producers trying to keep their traditions and production techniques alive, one can find some passionate consumers or people looking for roots and taste. Oenotourism is actually one of the B.N.I.A.’s warhorses.
Discovery is indeed the key-word of Armagnac’s potential development. This discovery is highly important because many people believe they have some knowledge about Armagnac. Yet, they should taste it, taste them – for there are several types of Armagnac – to find out the one they are sensitive to.
On that point, once again, Armagnac matches cognac. Indeed, there are so many gustatory prejudices regarding these two alcohols which are assimilated with and limited to liqueurs. The famous drink to be warmed up between the palms of our hands, by the fireside, with a good cigar! This persistent cliché is detrimental to Armagnac and it ages its consumers considerably. Therefore, the B.N.I.A. keeps encouraging tasting and discovering.

This is how the “Armagnac Perfect” concept was born. The French Barmen Association allowed the creation of cocktails made of Armagnac. Thus, the most prestigious names of the French hotels and palaces contribute to adding some glitter to the Gascon terroir. At the time of slunch and homemade pre-dinner drinks, of glass cups and other cocktail style spoons, cocktail drinks meet with success. So, the “Armagnac Perfect”, a perfect part of this socio-cultural phenomenon, could appeal to feminine customers.

cocktail2.jpg

The emphasis is also placed on the Armagnac–dishes association. Today many restaurants present menus that associate dishes and wines. Armagnac plays the game with elegance. Did you know that Armagnac is perfect with Roquefort cheese – another of its neighbors? This Armagnac–dishes harmony theme was actually at the center of the interprofessional great dinners organized for the 700 years.

All the Internet sites of producers or generalists linger over the taster education. How to look at it, how to smell it, how to drink it, which is the first step.
Then comes the discovery of the different Armagnacs. Indeed, each Armagnac lends itself to a particular consumption moment. In cooking (in a sauce, flambéed), in a tasting as with wine, in an aperitif (on ice, in cocktails), as a liqueur… So it is not an Armagnac that you should discover, but the productions of different vineyards and different craftsmen.
Then come the concepts of authenticity and respect, two of the magic words for Armagnac, because they rhyme with region, tradition and production methods. Actually, Armagnac is progressively going into green methods. Thanks to organic techniques and the return to basics, the region could possibly revive its heritage in a very modern way.
Above all, we should bear in mind its diversity. Diversity of producers, of terroirs, of methods… diversity of Armagnac types and flavors.
divers_arm.jpg
Far from standardization, the Armagnacs are as many stories that producers and those who savor them write as time goes by. ?As the B.N.I.A. is proudly saying, ” Armagnac is an authors’ eau-de-vie”.

To continue discovering Armagnac with the B.N.I.A.: www.armagnac.fr
or on Facebook as well: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Armagnac/55699572590?ref=ts

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cocktail_m

700 ans de l’Armagnac – 7e et dernière partie

2010 est fini. Cet anniversaire notable aussi. Voici donc la fin de notre saga de l’Armagnac.
Histoire, communication, marketing, commercialisation… L’Armagnac évolue aux rythmes des batailles de ceux qui le font, le défont, l’élèvent, le vendent. Et le goût ? Et le consommateur ?
cocktail.jpg

Aux côtés des producteurs qui essaient de conserver leurs traditions et leur mode de production, on trouve les quelques consommateurs passionnés. Ou des personnes en quête de racines et de goût. L’oenotourisme est d’ailleurs un cheval de bataille du B.N.I.A.
La découverte est en effet le mot capital du possible développement de l’Armagnac. Son problème réel ? Beaucoup croient connaître l’Armagnac. Il faut pourtant le déguster, les déguster – car il n’y a pas un Armagnac mais des Armagnacs – pour trouver celui auquel on est sensible.
Sur ce point, l’Armagnac rejoint encore une fois le Cognac. Les préjugés gustatifs sont en effet fort nombreux pour ces deux alcools assimilés et limités au rang de digestif. Ah, le fameux verre que l’on chauffe au creux de sa paume, au coin du feu, un bon cigare à la main ! Ce cliché persistant met en péril l’Armagnac et fait vieillir considérablement sa clientèle. Le B.N.I.A. n’a donc de cesse de favoriser les dégustations, les découvertes.

C’est ainsi qu’est né le concept d’ « Armagnac Perfect ». L’Association des Barmen Français a permis la création de cocktails réalisés avec l’Armagnac. Ainsi, les plus belles signatures des hôtels et palaces français viennent mettre un peu de paillettes dans le terroir gascon. A l’heure du slunch et de l’apéritif maison, à l’heure des verrines et autres cuillers dînatoires, les cocktails connaissent un grand succès. L’Armagnac Perfect s’inscrit donc parfaitement dans ce phénomène socio-culturel et pourrait bien féminiser la clientèle.

cocktail2.jpg

L’accent est également porté sur l’association Armagnac – mets. Nombreux sont les restaurants qui présentent aujourd’hui des cartes associant des plats et des vins. L’Armagnac se prête lui aussi élégamment au jeu. Saviez-vous que l’Armagnac se mariait parfaitement avec le roquefort – un autre de ses voisins ? Cette thématique d’accords Armagnac – mets était d’ailleurs au centre des grands dîners interprofessionnels organisés pour les 700 ans.

Tous les sites Internet de producteurs ou généralistes s’attardent sur l’éducation du dégustateur. Comment le regarder, le sentir, le boire. C’est la première étape.
Ensuite vient la découverte des différents Armagnacs. Chaque Armagnac se prête en effet à des moments de consommation différents. En cuisine (en sauce, flambé), en dégustation comme un vin, en apéritif (sur glace, en cocktail), en digestif… Ce n’est donc pas un Armagnac qu’il faut découvrir, mais des productions, des réalisations de différentes vignes, de différents artisans.
C’est à ce moment qu’arrivent les notions d’authenticité et de respect, deux des maîtres mots de l’Armagnac, car ils riment avec région, tradition, méthodes de production. L’Armagnac se met d’ailleurs au vert progressivement. Grâce au bio et au retour aux sources, la région pourrait donc bien renouer avec son patrimoine de façon très moderne.
Mais c’est surtout la diversité que nous devons retenir. Diversité des producteurs, des terroirs, des méthodes… diversité des armagnacs, diversité des saveurs.
divers_arm.jpg
Loin de l’uniformisation, les armagnacs sont autant d’histoires que les producteurs et ceux qui les savourent écrivent dans le temps. Comme le dit fièrement le B.N.I.A., l’Armagnac est une eau-de-vie d’auteurs.

Pour poursuivre la découverte de l’Armagnac avec le B.N.I.A. : www.armagnac.fr
ou encore sur facebook : http://www.facebook.com/pages/Armagnac/55699572590?ref=ts

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *