dior_eau_sauvage_m

The quietened rebel: L’Eau sauvage de Dior

Dior chose Alain Delon to embody one of the great classics of French perfumery: L’Eau sauvage. Yet, the campaign does not put the seventy-year-old star forward, but the young Alain Delon, at the top of his seductive power, when he was 31…

dior_eau_sauvage.jpg

The photograph by Jean-Marie Périer, taken in 1966 in Saint-Tropez, underlines the timelessness of a perfume created by Edmond Roudnistka on the same year. The aim of the campaign is to touch both the core target – through the nostalgia of bygone days – and the youngest, attracted by the boldness and irreverence of the Delon “myth”. “This image has not aged. It will allow us to touch both the men who remember Delon at that time and younger customers that will be seduced by his rebellious and irreverent side.”

Because of the Loi Evin and of the brand image, the actor’s cigarette has been erased to deliver a cleaner image: a paradoxical vision where the past is glorified in the oversight of its most disturbing aspects. If the essential accessory of the rebel outfit has been rubbed out, the historical rooting is well asserted again. Indeed, on the mini-site dedicated to the perfume universe, we discover the founding myth of l’Eau sauvage: May 68. The perfume creation took place at a moment in time when youth is said to be rid of complexes or else to love freedom while a wind of change is blowing over the whole word… 1966 becomes “the dawn of 1968”…

mini-site_Eau_sauvage.png

To emphasize still more this link to the 60’s, the music of the advertisement film for l’Eau sauvage – “A beautiful Mine”, song of the RJD2 musician – is identical to the credits music of the chain smoking Mad Men series (2007, AMC). With this campaign, Dior joins History and stresses its attachment to the values passed down by May 68. Sometimes considered a “failed revolution” by historiography, it is actually more about a withdrawal to a reassuring and comfortable period: the Post-war economic boom. It is an initiation perfume for the youngest, like a symbol of the transition to adulthood for young men (actually, it is often the first perfume offered) and a memorial present for seniors, like the memory of an “irreverent, conquering but ever elegant” male youth.

Dior carries on the change started since the years 2000 when the advertisement saga of l’Eau Sauvage is personalized, looking for male icons truly able to embody the myth. After Gruau’s posters (from 1966 to 1987), often presenting the man in the intimacy of his bathroom and always seductive, came the decade of anonymous models, arms crossed in a locker-room atmosphere and then the fictitious or real stars, revealed by the turtleneck and the signature “Méfiez-vous de l’eau qui dort” (i.e. “beware of a snake in the grass”, though the French phrase uses the word “water”). Zidane (1999), followed by Johnny Halliday (2000), then Largo Winch and Corto Maltèse (2001-2002) have embodied these values of masculinity, mystery, strength and softness of the perfume.

With this idealized Delon and the change of signature “l’Eternel masculin” (Eternal male), l’Eau sauvage reasserts its iconic and timeless status. All the more so as the flask design, created by Pierre Camin, has never been changed since its creation. Directly inspired from the flask, a male accessory with a strong suggestive power: from the English gentleman to Prohibition, the flask wearing Mr Dior’s thimble is a symbol of rebellion.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

dior_eau_sauvage_m

Le rebelle assagi : L’Eau sauvage de Dior

Dior a choisi Alain Delon pour incarner un des grands classiques de la parfumerie française : l’Eau sauvage. Ce n’est pourtant pas la star septuagénaire qui est mise à l’honneur dans cette campagne mais bien le jeune Alain Delon, au sommet de sa séduction à 31 ans…

dior_eau_sauvage.jpg

Le cliché du photographe Jean-Marie Périer, pris en 1966 à Saint-Tropez, vient souligner l’intemporalité d’un parfum créé par Edmond Roudnistka, la même année. L’objectif de la campagne est de toucher à la fois le cœur de cible par la nostalgie d’une époque révolue, mais également les plus jeunes attirés par l’audace et l’irrévérence du « mythe » Delon. « Cette image n’a pas vieilli et va nous permettre de toucher à la fois les hommes qui se souviennent de Delon à cette époque et une clientèle plus jeune qui sera séduite par son côté insoumis, irrévérencieux ».

Loi Evin et image de marque obligent, la cigarette de l’acteur a été effacée pour livrer une image plus policée, vision paradoxale où le passé est glorifié dans l’oubli de ses aspects les plus dérangeants. Si l’accessoire indispensable de la panoplie du rebelle est gommé, la filiation et l’ancrage historique sont quant à eux réaffirmés. Nous découvrons, en effet, sur le mini-site consacré à l’univers de la fragrance le mythe fondateur de l’Eau sauvage : mai 68. La création du parfum s’inscrit alors dans une période où la jeunesse est dite décomplexée ou éprise de liberté tandis que souffle un vent de renouveau dans le monde entier…1966 devient « l’aube de 1968 »…

mini-site_Eau_sauvage.png

Afin de marquer encore plus fortement cette filiation avec les années 60, la musique du film publicitaire pour l’Eau sauvage, le morceau « A beautiful Mine » du musicien RJD2 est identique au générique de la très tabagique série Mad Men (2007, AMC). Avec cette campagne, Dior s’inscrit dans l’Histoire et marque son attachement aux valeurs véhiculées par mai 68. Parfois qualifiée de « révolution manquée » par l’historiographie, il s’agit en fait d’un repli vers une période rassurante et confortable : les Trente Glorieuses. Le parfum devient initiatique pour les plus jeunes, comme un symbole de passage à l’âge adulte pour les jeunes hommes (il est d’ailleurs souvent offert comme premier parfum) et cadeau mémoriel pour les plus âgés, comme un souvenir d’une jeunesse masculine « irrévérencieuse, conquérante mais toujours élégante ».

Dior poursuit le tournant amorcé depuis les années 2000 où la saga publicitaire de l’Eau Sauvage se personnalise, à la recherche d’icônes masculines capables d’incarner avec justesse le mythe. Après les affiches de Gruau (de 1966 à 1987) présentant souvent l’homme dans l’intimité de sa salle de bains et toujours séducteur, vint la décennie des mannequins anonymes, bras croisés dans une ambiance de vestiaire pour passer enfin aux stars fictives ou réelles révélées par le col roulé et la signature « Méfiez-vous de l’eau qui dort ». Zidane (1999), suivi de Johnny Halliday (2000) puis de Largo Winch et Corto Maltése (2001-2002) ont ainsi incarné les valeurs de virilité, de mystère, de force et de douceur de la fragrance.

Avec ce Delon idéalisé et le changement de signature « l’Eternel masculin », l’Eau sauvage réaffirme son statut iconique et intemporel. D’autant plus que le design du flacon, créé par Pierre Camin n’a pas changé de forme depuis sa création. Inspiré directement de la flasque, un accessoire masculin au fort pouvoir évocateur : du gentleman anglais à la Prohibition, le flacon lui-même coiffé du dé à coudre de M.Dior est un symbole de rébellion.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *