atlanta

“125 years of mutual happiness”

In 1886, John Stith Pemberton, a chemist, developed a refreshing and reinvigorating elixir, the medicinal qualities of which he praised. 125 years later, the “Coca-Cola Company” celebrates its anniversary in Atlanta and multiplies events in the whole world. In Paris, the “125”, a pop-up space, offers to plunge into the heart of the brand and its history.

Célébration Atlanta2

John Pemberton is far from suspecting the future spectacular development of his drink when he is looking for the miracle cure that is supposed to calm pains, moods and raise acuity. Wounded during the Secession War (on the Confederate side), the chemist is interested in opiates.

J.Pemberton

In 1885, he creates the “French Wine Coca”, a drink with French wine and Peruvian coca plant extracts. The temperance leagues and the first measures announcing the Prohibition compel him to modify his formula to obtain a non-alcoholic drink, mixing his coca syrup with sparkling water. The beverage is distributed from a soda fountain in the Jacob drugstore in Atlanta.

Pharmacie Jacob

From the end of the 19th century to the 50’s, the “Soda Fountains” expand rapidly. Set up in the drugstores, they stand for essential places of sociability, in deprived of bars America. Bromide, caffeine, cocaine, as well as other plant extracts are mixed with carbon dioxide and introduced to consumers as beneficial remedies to various troubles. In 1914, the opiate derived drinks are forbidden at the bar and the “Soda Fountains” lose their bad reputation little by little.

Soda Foutain

John Pemberton will not see his elixir enter the American History. Debt-ridden, he sells his formula and his drugstores to his partners and dies in 1888. During the same year, Asa Candler acquires the business for 2,300 dollars and is the only holder of Coca-Cola formula in 1891, a formula he worked at again – still unchanged today. The following year, he creates the “Coca-Cola Company”: the legend is about to begin.

Campagne pin-up

A pop icon for Warhol, a US Army drink during World War II, crossing the Atlantic with Jazz in the 20’s, Coca-Cola becomes THE emblematic brand of the United States in the world.

Fonds photo CC

The 125th anniversary celebrations are the opportunity to remind everyone that not only is it one of the most consumed drinks in the world but also that it has been a pioneer in the communication field.

Ceaselessly highlighting its patrimony and perfectly mastering the art of story-telling, the brand offers us to discover (again) its part in the advertisement history, by opening its archives to Net surfers on a dedicated website displayed as a virtual gallery.


Campagne 19e

With the “Coca-Cola Conversations” blog, the brand was already offering to follow the adventures of the company team of archivists and historians. This was a way to present its collections but also to promote its museum and its event communication. Alternating feature articles – as during the “Black history month”, when it exhibited its avant-gardism in terms of civil rights – with lighter articles, Coca-Cola increases its closeness with its public.

Campagne Ebony

With its “virtual walk through 125 years of happiness”, the brand completes its plan highlighting its rich patrimony and it positions itself as an open, accessible, informal and family brand. A worldwide “family” brand.

 

Espace125

L’espace 125, until June 26th, 2011, 107 rue de La Béotie, Paris 8e

To be discovered : The Archives blog

www.coca-colaconversations.com

The site for the 125 years of the brand archives:

www.theverybestofcocacola.com

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

atlanta

« 125 ans de bonheur partagé »

En 1886, John Stith Pemberton, pharmacien et chimiste, met au point un élixir rafraichissant et revigorant, dont il vante les vertus médicinales. 125 ans après, la « Coca-Cola Company » célèbre son anniversaire à Atlanta et multiplie les opérations dans le monde entier. A Paris, un espace éphémère, le « 125 » propose de plonger au cœur de la marque et de son histoire.

Célébration Atlanta2

John Pemberton est loin de se douter du développement spectaculaire que connaitra la boisson, lorsqu’il cherche le remède miracle, censé calmer les douleurs, apaiser les humeurs et augmenter l’acuité intellectuelle. Blessé lors de la Guerre de Sécession, du côté Confédéré, le pharmacien s’intéresse de près aux opiacées.

J.Pemberton

En 1885, il crée le « French Wine Coca », boisson à base de vin français et d’extraits de plante de coca péruvien. Les ligues de tempérance et les premières mesures annonçant la Prohibition l’obligent à changer sa formule pour proposer une boisson non alcoolisée, mélangeant à son sirop de coca de l’eau gazeuse. Le breuvage est distribué au moyen d’une fontaine à sodas dans la pharmacie Jacob à Atlanta.

Pharmacie Jacob

De la fin du 19e siècle aux années 50, les « Soda Fountains » connaissent un essor important. Installées dans les pharmacies-drugstores, elles représentent des lieux de sociabilité essentiels, dans une Amérique privée de bars. Le bromure, la caféine, la cocaïne ainsi que d’autres extraits de plantes sont mélangés à du gaz carbonique et présentés aux consommateurs comme des remèdes salutaires à divers maux. En 1914, les boissons dérivées d’opiacés seront interdites au comptoir et les « Soda Fountains » perdent peu à peu leur mauvaise réputation.

Soda Foutain

John Pemberton, quant à lui, ne verra pas son élixir entrer dans l’Histoire américaine. Criblé de dettes, il vend sa formule et ses pharmacies à ses associés et décède en 1888. La même année Asa Candler rachète l’affaire pour 2 300 dollars et sera seul détenteur de la formule du Coca-Cola en 1891, dont il retravaille la composition, aujourd’hui encore inchangée. L’année suivante, il crée la « Coca-Cola Company » et la légende commence.

Campagne pin-up

Icône pop de Warhol, boisson de l’US Army pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, accompagnant le Jazz dans sa traversée de l’Atlantique dans les années 20, le Coca-Cola devient LA marque emblématique des Etats-Unis dans le monde.

Fonds photo CC

Les célébrations de son 125e anniversaire sont l’occasion de rappeler à tous, que non seulement elle est l’une des boissons les plus consommées au monde mais aussi qu’elle fut une pionnière en matière de communication.

Valorisant sans cesse son patrimoine et maîtrisant à la perfection l’art du story-telling, la marque nous propose de (re)découvrir son rôle dans l’histoire de la publicité, en ouvrant ses archives aux Internautes, dans un site présenté comme un musée virtuel.

Campagne 19e

Déjà avec le blog « Coca-Cola Conversations », la marque proposait de suivre les aventures de l’équipe des archivistes et historiens de l’entreprise, une façon de présenter ses collections mais aussi de promouvoir son musée et sa communication événementielle. Alternant les articles de fond, comme lors du « Black history month » où elle expose son avant-gardisme en matière de droits civiques, et les articles plus légers, Coca-Cola accroit sa proximité avec son public.

Campagne Ebony

Avec sa « promenade virtuelle dans 125 ans de bonheur », elle complète son dispositif de valorisation d’un riche patrimoine et se positionne comme une marque ouverte, accessible à tous, familière et familiale…une « famille » mondiale.

 

A voir :

Espace125

L’espace 125, jusqu’au 26 juin 2011, 107 rue de La Béotie, Paris 8e

A découvrir : Le blog des Archives

www.coca-colaconversations.com

Le site des 125 ans d’archives de la marque

www.theverybestofcocacola.com

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *