entree_m

Tested for you: the visit of the Papillon cellars

If industrial tourism is still a vague concept in France – we could willingly revisit it – there exist some bastions banking on a region’s traditions. When no longer dealing with isolated producers, but with a company, things are different. So, how does the company associate tradition with tourism, self-promotion with the defense of its know-how? Let’s go for a guided tour in the cellars.

Enter the charming village of Roquefort and you’ll get a slap in the face: lost on isolated land, the village suddenly takes you back to consumer society: crowded with tourists, posters and references to its cheese. Families on holidays and tourist coaches stopping there to visit the cellars.
Papillon is one of the most famous references of Roquefort cheese. More discreet and elitist – its sober and elegant Internet site proves it – than Société, its neighbor, leader of mass-market, Papillon offers you an invitation to discovery.

entree.jpg

First of all, queue up in a concrete staircase. When you are well crammed, enter the projection room, a small room giving a preview of the next cellars. The guide lets you sit down and watch a video – a kind of improved slide-show of the 80’s – glorifying the A.O.C. label, the natural air conditioning from the fleurines (small cracks resulting from the mountain subsidence), the Lacaune breed ewes, the bounded territory of milk production, the milk transport, the rye bread – giving the penicillium roqueforti (the ingredient allowing the noble rot to develop)… all that can set things straight about blue cheese in your mind will be instilled into you. The video ends with a self-promotion of Papillon products: ewe cheeses (not only Roquefort) and the olive oil of the brand (this is far from being a region specialty, but Papillon owns an olive grove).

The guide comes back at the end of the video and drags you underground through small stairs to discover the famous, small, dark, fresh and humid cellars, through one floor after another which are all alike. You can see big wooden shelves where “loaves” of Roquefort rest. Don’t come between July and October when ewes keep their milk for their young… so, there is no cheese to admire! Some cracks in the walls allow you to see the famous fleurines.

Fleurine.jpg

But, oh poor tourist – “on a cultural tour” with grand-ma and your two kids – wake up, because the guide is willingly playing the schoolteacher. Questions burst forth. Did the audience learn the lesson about the A.O.C.? Once again, the guide talks about the A.O.C., shows you the bread turned black when digested by the bacteria. Then, you are freed and showed the way back that leads to the tasting room. A small piece or two for each visitor and a small piece of bread dipped in the Papillon olive oil. A little money basket appears once again at the goodbye time (the visit is free, please think about the guides ladies and gentlemen!) and here you are in front of the great display of the shop.
The offer is quite attractive. All the cheese varieties are here in different packaging. Freezer bags are already open. The nice and colored metal box, designed to welcome the “Taste Fromage”, the exceptional cheese of the range, gives you a wink. Bottles of the (excellent and fruity) olive oil smile to you. The Papillon knife is tempting you. In short, cheeses are here, by-products too.

Finally, we ask ourselves how the visit happens to enrich our vision of the company. After having heard the A.O.C being praised, we still wonder about the differences between Papillon and another A.O.C., the House specificities, its evolution, etc. And actually, why a Butterfly (Papillon means butterfly) as a name and logo? Luckily, a visitor asks the question. The answer is brief (at that time, houses used to have insects as emblems).

Site_papillon_2.png

Papillon’s promise was to be more authentic. Maybe we should all the same prefer Société, with its “son et lumière” spectacle, its animated model of the mountains subsidence and its promise to let you encompass 2 000 years of history!

Photos SB.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

entree_m

J’ai testé pour vous : la visite des caves Papillon

Si le tourisme industriel est un concept encore très flou en France, nous pourrons d’ailleurs y revenir volontiers, il existe quelques bastions qui misent sur les traditions d’une région. Lorsqu’il ne s’agit plus de petits producteurs isolés, mais d’une société, les choses sont différentes. Alors, comment une société marie-t-elle cette tradition avec le tourisme, l’auto promotion avec la défense de son savoir-faire ? Visite guidée des caves.

Entrez dans le charmant village de Roquefort et prenez-vous une claque immédiate : perdu dans une campagne isolée, le village vous replonge subitement dans la société de consommation, bondé qu’il est de touristes, de pancartes et de références à son fromage. Les familles en vacances et les cars de touristes s’y arrêtent pour visiter les caves. Papillon est une des références les plus connues du roquefort. Plus discrète et plus élitiste, comme en atteste son site sobre et élégant, que son voisin Société qui occupe la scène de la grande distribution, elle invite également à la découverte.

entree.jpg

Faites tout d’abord la queue dans un escalier de béton. Lorsque vous êtes bien entassés, entrez dans la salle de projection, petite salle qui donne un aperçu des caves prochaines. La guide vous y fait installer et vous laisse regarder un film, dans un style diaporama amélioré des années 80, à la gloire de l’A.O.C. : l’air conditionné naturel des fleurines (petites fissures nées de l’effondrement de la montagne), les brebis de race Lacaune, le territoire de production du lait délimité, l’acheminement du lait, le pain de seigle qui donne le pénicillium roqueforti (ingrédient qui permet à la noble pourriture de se développer)… tout ce qui peut vous remettre les pendules à l’heure sur la question des fromages bleus vous sera inculqué. Le film finit en auto-promo sur les produits Papillon : les fromages de brebis – pas uniquement le roquefort – et l’huile d’olive de la marque (c’est loin d’être une spécialité de la région, mais Papillon possède une oliveraie).

L’hôtesse revient à la fin du film et vous entraîne sous terre par de petits escaliers découvrir ces fameuses caves, petites, sombres, fraîches, humides. Les étages se suivent et se ressemblent. De grandes étagères de bois où reposent les « pains » de roquefort. Ne venez pas de juillet à octobre : les brebis gardent leur lait pour leurs petits… et il n’y a donc pas de fromages à regarder ! Le long des murs, quelques parois laissent apercevoir les fameuses fleurines.

Fleurine.jpg

Mais, ô pauvre touriste venu « faire du culturel » avec mamie et tes deux enfants, sors de ta torpeur, car l’hôtesse entend volontiers jouer à la maîtresse d’école. Les questions fusent. Les spectateurs ont-ils bien appris la leçon de l’A.O.C. ? On en remet une couche, on vous montre le pain dévoré par sa bactérie et devenu noir. On vous libère enfin vers le chemin du retour qui conduit vers la salle de dégustation. Un petit morceau ou deux par personnes, un petit pain imbibé d’huile d’olive Papillon. Une petite cagnotte qui resurgit encore au moment des adieux (la visite est gratuite, faut penser aux hôtesses, m’sieur dames) et vous voici devant le grand étal vitré de la boutique.
L’offre est séduisante. Tous les fromages sont là, en conditionnement divers. Les sacs congélation sont déjà dégainés. La jolie boîte métal colorée, écrin du Taste Fromage – le fromage d’exception de la gamme – vous fait un clin d’œil. Les bouteilles de cette (excellente et fruitée) huile d’olive vous sourient. Le couteau Papillon vous tente. Bref, les fromages sont là, les produits dérivés aussi.

Au final, on se demande bien comment la visite vient enrichir notre vision de la société. Après avoir entendu l’apologie de l’A.O.C. on se demande toujours ce qui fait la différence entre Papillon et un autre A.O.C., les spécificités de la maison, son évolution, etc. Et pourquoi un papillon d’ailleurs (comme nom et comme logo) ? Heureusement qu’un visiteur pose la question. La réponse est rapide (à l’époque les maisons avaient souvent des emblèmes avec des insectes, etc.).

Site_papillon_2.png

La promesse Papillon était d’être plus authentique. Peut-être fallait-il quand même préférer Société, avec son spectacle « son et lumière », sa maquette animée de l’effondrement des montagnes et sa promesse de vous faire traverser 2000 ans d’histoire !

Photos SB.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *