PUB_BNIA

700 years Armagnac – 2nd part

Previously, we saw how Armagnac was born and how it started development locally. What about overseas?

In the 17th century, Armagnac is being exported by the Dutch who are rulers of the sea and great alcohol traders.
The port of Bordeaux is a trading Mecca. But, thanks to the Privilège de Bordeaux (1224 – 1776), the wines of Bordeaux are reserved for the English. The Dutch are compelled to go further away to look for their wines. This is how they landed in Armagnac. Besides, the Dutch are more used to white wine than the English, who prefer Claret. Finally, the bad preservation of wine on long journeys makes them prefer liquors, which, incidentally, can improve during the journey as they are transported in barrels!
This is when this eau-de-vie is actually given the appellation of Armagnac as in ports people had to find a way of distinguishing it from others, in particular the ones from Saintonge and Languedoc. Therefore, they named it after its region of origin.

In the 18th century, the War of Independence in the United States (1775-1783) leads to a new growth of exports: the Americans boycott whisky and cognac – the favorite alcohols of their English opponents – and turn towards Armagnac. The Gascon people seize the opportunity to improve their products, to ripen the eaux-de-vie and to start assembling.

In the 19th century, le Gers is the leading wine-growing département in France. The methods evolve as well: the beginning of the century witnesses the arrival of the still pot with a continuous heating circuit, which marks a major difference with regard to cognac.

Unfortunately, the phylloxera, leaves its imprint on the end of the century. The disease spreads on the Folle Blanche, as in the Cognac area. In 1893, the harvest decreases by three quarters. At that time, the vineyards cover 100 000 ha in the mere Gers département. In 1909, they cover only 50 000 ha.
However, this period remains positive for Armagnac, thanks to the birth of Baco vine, in 1898. Baco 22A (from the rank figure this vine stock was wearing in the experimental nursery) comes from the work of a teacher of les Landes, François Baco. This self-taught-man invented the hybrid grape variety that gave another “color” to Bas Armagnac and contributed to the eau-de-vie rescue. Baco blanc is still an eccentricity in the French wine field today. Less sensitive to illnesses, it is therefore more eco-friendly.

The 20th century is the time of regulations.
The Faillères Decree in 1909 recognizes the land know-how and defines the three appellation regions: Bas-Armagnac, Armagnac Ténarèze and Haut-Armagnac.
The Decree of 1936 created the A.O.C. and the production rules, the allowed production methods.
The Decree of May 27th, 2005 gets into more details over all the specifications of Armagnac (plantation density, pruning mode…).
Finally, the INAO Reform leads to new specifications.

Regions

Today, Armagnac is highly controlled. 30% is exported toward 130 countries and 6 million bottles are sold per year.

To be continued.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Regions_m

700 ans de l’Armagnac – 2e partie

Précédemment, nous avons vu comment l’Armagnac est né et comment il commence à se développer localement. Mais au-delà des mers ?

C’est grâce aux Hollandais que l’Armagnac s’exporte. Au XVIIe siècle, ils sont les maîtres des mers et de grands marchands d’alcools.
Le port de Bordeaux est un haut lieu commercial. Mais grâce au Privilège de Bordeaux (1224 – 1776), les vins de Bordeaux sont réservés aux Anglais. Les Hollandais sont contraints d’aller chercher plus loin leurs vins. C’est ainsi qu’ils viennent vers l’Armagnac. En outre, les Hollandais sont plus habitués au vin blanc que les Anglais, qui préfèrent le Clairet. Enfin, la mauvaise conservation du vin sur les longs trajets leur fait préférer les eaux-de-vie. Transportées en barrique, elles peuvent de surcroît se bonifier !
C’est d’ailleurs à ce moment que Armagnac devient l’appellation de l’eau-de-vie. Dans les ports, il faut la distinguer des autres, notamment celles du Saintonge et du Languedoc. On l’appelle donc par son lieu d’origine.

Au XVIIIe, la guerre d’indépendance des Etats-Unis (1775-1783) entraine une nouvelle augmentation des exportations : les Américains boycottent whisky et cognac, alcools préférés de leur adversaires anglais et se tournent davantage vers l’Armagnac. Les Gascons saisissent l’opportunité pour améliorer leurs produits, affiner les eaux-de-vie, commencer les assemblages.

Au XIXe, le Gers est le 1er département viticole de France. La technique évolue elle aussi : le début du siècle voit l’arrivée de l’alambic à distillation continue, qui marque une différence majeure par rapport au cognac.

Mais la fin du siècle est marquée par le phylloxéra. Cette maladie se répand sur la Folle Blanche, comme pour le cognac. En 1893, la récolte diminue de trois quarts. Le vignoble couvre alors 100 000 ha dans le seul département du Gers. En 1909, il ne représente plus que 50 000 ha.
Cette période reste cependant positive pour l’Armagnac grâce à la naissance du Baco en 1898. Baco 22A (du chiffre du rang qui portait ce pied dans la pépinière expérimentale) vient du travail d’un instituteur Landais, François Baco. Cet autodidacte inventa ce cépage hybride qui donna une nouvelle couleur au Bas Armagnac et participa du sauvetage de l’eau-de-vie. Le Baco blanc constitue encore aujourd’hui une originalité dans le paysage viticole français. Moins sensible aux maladies, il est de fait plus écologique.

Le XXe siècle sera celui de la réglementation.
Le Décret Faillères de 1909 reconnaît le savoir-faire du pays et définit les trois régions d’appellation Bas-Armagnac, Armagnac Ténarèze et Haut-Armagnac.
Le décret de 1936 donne l’AOC et les règles de productions, les méthodes de production autorisées.
Le décret du 27 mai 2005 reprend toutes les caractéristiques de l’Armagnac encore plus en détail (densité de plantation, mode de taille…).
Enfin, en 2009, la réforme de l’INAO entraine un nouveau cahier des charges.

Regions

Aujourd’hui, l’Armagnac est donc très contrôlé. Il s’exporte à 30 % vers 130 pays et se vend environ 6 millions de bouteilles par an.

A suivre…

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *