alambic_m

700 years of Armagnac – 4th part

An eventful history, two weighty ambassadors, a symbolic and strong anniversary… but some problems remain though.

First in France where the crisis has slowed down all the economical movements. Armagnac has been hit by the crisis too: the 2009 figures prove it though 2008 showed a sales recovery. Besides, French people drink more whisky than cognac or Armagnac…
Abroad, the export recovery of 2010 is of good omen. But when Armagnac sells 6.6 million bottles, whisky sells 1.6 billion of them. One might think it natural for a more authentic product made by small producers. Indeed, but cognac sells 163 million bottles!

A mixed success: the differences between Armagnac and Cognac
With such a rich history, the half success of Armagnac leaves us puzzled. Cognac, its neighbor, is far better known and sells much more, with its great trade houses, when Armagnac is surviving thanks to small producers or family houses.
Let’s examine some of their differences:

In taste :

  • The terroir, of course. Even if many cognacs and armagnacs use the ugni blanc grape variety, the land and the exposure determine the eaux-de-vie aroma.
  • The pot still. The still in Charente has a double heating circuit. The eau-de-vie coming out of it is 72° proof, while the still for Armagnac offers a continuous distillation. The eau-de-vie coming out of it is between 54 and 60° proof. Some say that Armagnac is better, less “burning”. (The double heating circuit lost ground in Gascogne during the 19th century, it was abolished in 1936; it has been tolerated again since 1972 with the settlement in Gascogne of investors from… Charente).
    Alambic

 

In their conception :

Cognacs are assembled eaux-de-vie, whereas vintage is an Armagnac specificity, an exception in the eaux-de-vie field. Vintages mark the memory of land, climate and method.

In terms of History :

  • Cognac is close to Bordeaux: in the 17th century in particular, the nearness of the Bordeaux port was a trump card for the Cognac region.
  • Today, Cognac benefits from a current trend in the American rap world. Brought to the United States by GIs after World War II, cognac has been adopted by Afro-American communities who have left whisky to the “white man”. Unfortunately, Armagnac does not find favor with these new icons of the consumption world.

However, the current business models are certainly most responsible for the awareness and sales differences between the two alcohols. Armagnac is quite atypical in this extended globalization.

To be continued.

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

alambic_m

700 ans de l’Armagnac – 4e partie

Une histoire riche, deux ambassadeurs de poids, un anniversaire symbolique et fort… et pourtant les difficultés sont là.

En France d’abord, où la crise a ralenti tous les mouvements économiques. L’Armagnac n’a pas échappé à la crise, les chiffres de 2009 le prouvent quand 2008 laissait paraître une reprise des ventes. Et les Français boivent plus de whisky que de cognac ou d’armagnac…
A l’étranger, la reprise des exportations en 2010 est de bon augure. Mais quand l’Armagnac vend 6,6 millions de bouteilles, le whisky en vend 1,6 milliards. Normal pour un produit plus authentique, de producteurs ? Oui, mais le Cognac se vend lui à 163 millions de bouteilles !

Un succès en demi-teinte : les différences entre l’Armagnac et le Cognac
Avec cette histoire aussi riche, le demi succès de l’Armagnac laisse perplexe. Son voisin le Cognac est tellement plus connu et vendu, avec ses grandes maisons de négoce, quand l’Armagnac survit par ses petits producteurs ou ses maisons familiales.
Examinons quelques unes de leurs différences :

Dans le goût :

  • Le terroir, bien sûr. Ainsi, même si de nombreux cognacs et armagnacs utilisent l’ugni blanc, la terre et l’exposition modifie les arômes des eaux-de-vie.
  • L’alambic. L’alambic charentais est à double chauffe. L’eau-de-vie qui en sort titre en moyenne à 72°. L’alambic armagnacais offre une distillation continue. L’eau-de-vie en sort entre 54 et 60 °. Certains diront donc que l’Armagnac est meilleur, moins ardent. (La méthode de double chauffe qui avait perdu du terrain en Gascogne au XIXe siècle et qui avait été abolie en 1936 est à nouveau tolérée en 1972 avec l’implantation en Gascogne d’investisseurs… charentais.)
    Alambic

 

Dans sa conception :

Les cognacs ne sont que des assemblages. Le Millésime est une spécificité armagnacaise, une exception dans le domaine des eaux-de-vie. Les millésimes fixent la mémoire de la terre, du ciel, des méthodes utilisées.

Dans l’histoire :

  • La proximité Cognac / Bordeaux : Au XVIIe siècle en particulier, la proximité du port de Bordeaux fut un grand atout pour la région de Cognac.
  • Aujourd’hui, le Cognac bénéficie d’un effet de mode dans le milieu du Rap américain. Ramené aux Etats-Unis par les GI après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il avait été adopté par les communautés afro-américaines, laissant le whisky à « l’homme blanc ». L’Armagnac ne bénéficie malheureusement pas des faveurs de ces nouvelles icônes du monde de la consommation.

Mais les business models en place sont certainement les plus responsables des différences de notoriété et de vente des deux alcools. L’armagnac est bien atypique dans cette mondialisation étendue.

A suivre…

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *