couv_livret

Voyage en Capitale: Louis Vuitton and Paris at the Carnavalet Museum

The surprise of a bright exhibition with a modern scenography in the old-fashioned charm of the Carnavalet Museum: the “Voyage en capitale” exhibition announces a Paris viewed by the famous trunk-maker through 11 “scenes”.
couv_livret.jpg
© Jacques-Henri Lartigue

First theme: the beginnings in Paris. Paintings, photographs: Vuitton shows its own old Paris, with an antique sign and a first trunk. A wall is decorated with portraits of the three great family members of the company: Louis, the founder (1821-1892), Georges, the innovator (1857-1936) and Gaston-Louis, the man of arts (1883-1970).
The second theme goes back over the monogram origins, presenting various objects with motives explaining the founding influences of the famous ornament.
Expo_famille.jpg
© Patrick Galabert

The next room deals with transport – with the miniature of a stagecoach and all the types of traveling trunks such as Tea Cases, the car trunk – and with World Fairs, which led to so many creations! Louis Vuitton attended them from 1867 and won many prizes there. During the great 1900 Fair, Georges Vuitton is in charge of the organization of the traveling objects and leather goods section. Therefore, he is outside the competition. Nevertheless, he displays – as we learn it – his own exhibition in a blue carousel reminding you of the Big Wheel. Posters, maps and trunks are there to testify the influence of the World Fairs. But you can also see a magnificent mockup of the 1878 Palais du Trocadéro.
Then, we discover the design and Africanism of the beginning of the 20th century. If the Arts Décoratifs are more visible on the Louis Vuitton collection pieces (such as perfume flasks), the ethnical inspirations are directly perceptible on the trunks: crocodile leather, objects made of ivory… This style was to reach its peak for the colonial exhibition in 1931, whose map lets us perceive the festive aspect of it as well as the “human zoos”.

Stand_expo_coloniale_1931.jpg
© Archives Louis Vuitton

Similarly, the displays echo the former room as well by going back on the transport theme, but through motor exploits this time. This is the era of great explorers and inventions of any kind on earth or in the air that take us far away from Paris. This is how we discover trunks for each type of journey. The Aéro trunk, in 1910, prided itself on weighing only 26 kg!
Then, the exhibition gets lost in themes specific to the trunk-maker. A small room, like an antechamber, offers a poetical video work made to represent Louis Vuitton at the Shanghai World Fair in 2010. 6th scene: dandies; the trunks are dedicated to celebrities of the time. 7th scene: elegant women of the 20’s and their trunks to lay their many shoes for example.

Expo_elegantes.jpg
© Patrick Galabert

8th scene: celebrities. 9th scene: tradition, innovation, re-interpretation: a culture of curiosity. Here, white cubes display old trunks mixed with more recent luggage, to flashy material and colors far away from natural leather.

Expo_innovations.jpg
© Patrick Galabert

10th scene: Damien Hirst’s special order, i.e two blue and black trunks with butterflies and vanities to contain various surgical instruments.
The 11th scene, entitled “Have a nice trip!” is an order from Louis Vuitton to Frédérique Chauveau, a decoration and video display on the water theme. This is also where you can find books on sale such as “100 legendary trunks” in its deluxe version: 140 € for 800 wonderful pages and small inserts, like cards scattered through the pages that flatter the potential collector’s soul of the reader.

Livre_deluxe.jpg

You can also get over it with the little exhibition guide, which, surprisingly, shows no pictures of what you have just seen.
Because, overall, the marketing of the exhibition is highly elaborate. Presentation videos are available on youtube : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWMJaNQY0Gg, the video of the exhibition rooms and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMu35g60YJw&feature=channel, the interview of Patrick Louis Vuitton. The exhibition also has its own Internet site: www.louisvuitton-voyageencapitale.com. Children are not forgotten either, because a small book is dedicated to them, with nice drawings and questions.
We are a little doubtful though when ending this journey. Indeed, the Paris of the early century is there, so are the trunks. But isn’t this theme a mere excuse for another exhibition? What can be said about the Parisian journey from the motor exploits, celebrities and innovation themes? And how to bring together the final journey – as a daydreaming on water – and our “ville lumière”?
Indeed, Louis Vuitton has always shown adaptability to its clients. The most prestigious will always see their special orders particularly and carefully produced, with the required innovation. Thus, Louis Vuitton is contributing to creation and art and is becoming a witness – even an actor – of the former eras, of our time too. But is our Paris of today the one of artistic creation, as the exhibition would like to conclude? In the end, this journey is rather an overview of the spectacular archives of the House.

Voyage en Capitale
Louis Vuitton & Paris
Untill February 27th 2011
Le Musée Carnavalet
23 rue de Sévigné
75003 Paris

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

couv_livret

Voyage en Capitale : Louis Vuitton et Paris au Musée Carnavalet

Surprise d’une exposition lumineuse à la scénographie moderne dans le cadre au charme vieillot du Musée Carnavalet : l’exposition « Voyage en capitale » annonce la proposition d’un Paris sous le regard du célèbre malletier, à travers 11 « tableaux ».
couv_livret.jpg
© Jacques-Henri Lartigue

Premier thème : les débuts à Paris. Peintures, photographies, Vuitton expose son vieux Paris, avec une ancienne enseigne et une première malle. Un mur est orné des portraits des trois grandes figures familiales de l’entreprise : Louis, le fondateur (1821-1892), Georges, le novateur (1857-1936) et Gaston-Louis, l’homme de l’art (1883-1970).
Le 2e thème revient sur les origines du monogramme, présentant divers objets aux motifs expliquant les influences fondatrices du fameux ornement.
Expo_famille.jpg
© Patrick Galabert

La salle suivante s’intéresse aux transports – avec une miniature de diligence et tous les types de malles de voyage comme les Tea Case, la malle auto – et aux expositions universelles, qui furent si créatrices ! Louis Vuitton y est présent dès 1867 et y gagne de nombreuses médailles. A la grande exposition de 1900, Georges Vuitton est chargé d’organiser la section d’Articles de voyage et de maroquinerie. Il est donc hors concours, néanmoins il installe – nous dit-on – sa présentation dans un carrousel bleu rappelant la Grande Roue. Affiches, plans, malles sont là pour témoigner de cette influence des expositions universelles, mais aussi un magnifique modèle réduit du Palais du Trocadéro de 1878.
On découvre ensuite le design et l’africanisme du début du XXe siècle. Si les Arts décoratifs sont plus visibles sur des pièces de la collection Louis Vuitton (comme des flacons de parfum), les inspirations ethniques sont, elles, directement perceptibles sur les malles : cuir de crocodile, objets en ivoire… Le style atteindra son apogée pour l’exposition coloniale de 1931, dont le plan laisse percevoir l’aspect festif mais aussi « zoos humains ».
Stand_expo_coloniale_1931.jpg
© Archives Louis Vuitton

Parallèlement, la suite des vitrines fait également écho à la salle précédente en revenant sur la thématique du transport, mais cette fois à travers les exploits motorisés. L’époque est celle des grands explorateurs et des inventions de tout genre sur terre ou en l’air, qui nous emmènent loin de Paris. On découvre ainsi des malles pour chaque type de trajet. La malle Aéro, en 1910, se vantait de ne peser que 26 kg !
L’exposition se perd ensuite dans des thématiques propres au malletier. Un petit espace comme une antichambre présente une œuvre vidéo poétique réalisée pour représenter Louis Vuitton à l’exposition universelle de Shanghai, en 2010. 6e tableau : les dandys ; des modèles sont dédiés aux célébrités du moment. 7e tableau : les élégantes, ces femmes des années 20 et leurs malles pour ranger, par exemple, leurs nombreux souliers.
Expo_elegantes.jpg
© Patrick Galabert

8e tableau : les célébrités. 9e tableau : tradition, innovation, réinterprétation : une culture de la curiosité. Ici, des cubes blancs exposent d’anciennes malles mélangées aux bagages plus récents, aux matières plus clinquantes, aux couleurs éloignées du cuir naturel.
Expo_innovations.jpg
© Patrick Galabert

10e tableau : la commande spéciale de Damien Hirst, soit deux malles bleu et noir avec papillons et vanités pour contenir divers instruments chirurgicaux.
Le 11e tableau intitulé « Bon voyage ! » est une commande de Louis Vuitton à Frédérique Chauveaux, installation déco et vidéo autour de l’eau. C’est là que vous retrouverez également divers livres à vendre comme « 100 malles de légende », dans sa version deluxe : 140 € pour 800 magnifiques pages et des petits inserts, comme des cartes égrenées au fil des pages, qui flattent l’âme de collectionneur potentiel du lecteur.
Livre_deluxe.jpg

Vous pourrez aussi vous consoler avec le petit guide de l’exposition, qui curieusement ne reprend pas de photo de ce que vous aurez pu voir.
Car au global, le marketing de l’exposition est très élaboré. Des vidéos de présentation sont disponibles sur youtube : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWMJaNQY0Gg, vidéo des salles de l’exposition et http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMu35g60YJw&feature=channel, l’interview de Patrick Louis Vuitton. L’exposition dispose également de son site Internet dédié : www.louisvuitton-voyageencapitale.com. Les enfants ne sont pas non plus oubliés car un petit livret leur est destiné, avec jolis dessins et questions.
On sort tout de même un peu dubitatif de ce fameux voyage en capitale. Le Paris du début du siècle est certes présent. Les malles aussi. Mais cette thématique n’est-elle pas un simple prétexte à exposition ? Que dire du voyage parisien lorsqu’on sort des thématiques des exploits motorisés, des célébrités, de l’innovation ? Et comment raccrocher le voyage final, comme une rêverie sur l’eau, à notre ville lumière ?
Certes, Louis Vuitton s’est toujours adapté à ses clients. Les plus prestigieux verront leurs commandes spéciales particulièrement soignées dans leurs réalisations, dans l’innovation apportée. Louis Vuitton participe ainsi à la création, à l’art et devient ainsi un témoin – et même un acteur – des époques passées. De notre époque aussi. Mais notre Paris d’aujourd’hui est-il bien celui de la création artistique, comme voudrait le conclure cette exposition ? Au final, ce voyage sera plutôt un aperçu des archives spectaculaires de la Maison.

Voyage en Capitale
Louis Vuitton & Paris
jusqu’au 27 février 2011
au Musée Carnavalet
23 rue de Sévigné
75003 Paris

0 commentaires

Commentaires

Vous voulez rejoindre la discussion ?
N'hésitez-pas à participer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *